Mineral County, Montana Genealogy
Guide to Mineral County, Montana ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Mineral County, Montana|
Location of Montana in the U.S.
|Founded||August 7, 1914|
|Address|| Mineral County Courthouse|
300 River Street
PO Box 550;
Superior, MT 59872
Mineral County Website
- 1 Historical Facts
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Biography
- 2.2 Cemeteries
- 2.3 Census
- 2.4 Church Records
- 2.5 Court Records
- 2.6 Directories
- 2.7 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.8 Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
- 2.9 Gazetteers
- 2.10 Genealogy
- 2.11 History
- 2.12 Land and Property
- 2.13 Local Histories
- 2.14 Maps
- 2.15 Migration
- 2.16 Military
- 2.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.18 Newspapers
- 2.19 Obituaries
- 2.20 Probate
- 2.21 Public Records
- 2.22 Repositories
- 2.23 Taxation
- 2.24 Vital Records
- 2.25 Websites
- 3 Populated Places
- 4 References
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- Parent County: created 7 August 1914 from Missoula
- County seat: Superior 
- Neighboring Counties: Clearwater County, Idaho | Missoula | Sanders | Shoshone County, Idaho
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Montana Cemeteries for more information.|
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.
- Clark Fork West Church: 75 Abba Lane, St. Regis
- New Day Fellowship: 20 Big Creek Rd, Haugen
- Seventh-Day Adventist Church: 511 Iron Mountain Heights, Superior
- St. Regis Community Bible Church: 401 Main St, St. Regis
- Superior Community Church: by Timberman's Park at the west end of Main St., Superior
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints: 12 Moats Lane, Superior
- Fold of the Messiah: a Christian church and community, Tarkio
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Mineral County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
In 1906 the majority of land in Mineral County was proclaimed National Forest. There are 1,226 sections in Mineral County - of this 83.8% belongs to the Federal Government, 2.8% belongs to the State of Montana, 13.4% is privately owned....that leaves about 8% of the land available to the county.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mineral County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Online Probate Records
In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Mineral - Probate records.
County Clerk and Recorder has birth, death, burial and land records from 1914; Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce and court records from 1914 
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Mineral County Museum & Historical Society
301 2nd Avenue
PO Box 533
Superior, Montana 59872
Hours: Tues & Thurs 3:00 – 6:00pm or by appointment
- Mineral County Museum & Historical Society
Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.
- Genealogy Inc Mineral County, Montana
- Kindred Trails Mineral County, Montana
- USGenWeb Mineral County, Montana project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
Mineral County's population has had it's highs and lows through the years. The 1870 census shows there were 1,646 people, but by 1880 there were only 270; in 1910 the population recovered to 2,900, but by 1930 it dropped to 1,626; in 1960 it rose to 3,037 and to 3,884 in 2000.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 417.