Minety, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Minety, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Minety

Guide to Minety, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Minety, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Malmesbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Malmesbury
Registration District Malmesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1663
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malmesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

MINETY, or Mynty (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union and hundred of Malmesbury, N. division of Wiltshire, 7 miles (S. by W.) from Cirencester. The church is in the southwestern part of the parish.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Minety parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
MINETY PARISH Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


NIM 1605-1852


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288768.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848)pp. 321-325. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
  2. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.