Missisquoi County, Quebec

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Canada Gotoarrow.png Quebec Gotoarrow.png Missisquoi County

Getting Started

1.  What information do you wish to locate about your ancestor?  To choose the sources you need to search first, please click on  RECORD SELECTION TABLE: Quebec, which will help you decide.

2.  From the above Record Selection Table, which sources do you wish to check in this county?  To check the availability of your sources of interest as well as to check the websites that have them online, please click on this county's SOURCES LINKS TABLE  . 

3.  Do you know the location that you wish to search in this county?  If so, please check for some possible sources and some online information about your location of interest, by clicking on  this county's POPULATED PLACES TABLE .

4.  For further information regarding your sources of interest, see "Resources" ABOVE in the "CONTENTS" table and click on the source of interest.

Remember that you should always try to get an original copy of that source to verify information. 

Please be aware that this is a growing Pilot program, with new information being added on a regular basis.

NOTE:  If you would like to participate in contributing information into this WIKI program, please go to the "Create a New Page" section of this screen, and follow the guidelines.

WELCOME ABOARD!  More sharers of information = more information available for everyone!

Historical Facts

Parent County

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biographies

At this time, please read about Biographies in the Province of Quebec Resources - Biography.

Cemeteries

  • Southbeech Ridge Cemetery, Clarenceville, Quebec (also known as the Hawley Cemetery)
  • At this time, please read about Cemeteries in the Province of Quebec Resources - Cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

  • The University of Montreal has created the PRDH data base from parish and other records prior to 1800. All the catholic certificates of baptism, marriage and burial of Quebec and the Protestant marriages 1621-1849. $, but there is a free index which gives names, years, and parishes.
  • At this time, please read about Church Records in the Province of Quebec Resources - Church Records .

Civil Registration

At this time, please read about Civil Registration (i.e. Vital Records) in the Province of Quebec Resources - Civil Registration  .

Court Records

At this time, please read about Court Records in the Province of Quebec Resources - Court Records.

Directories

At this time, please read about Directories in the Province of Quebec Resources - Directories.

Genealogy

  • Description of Dictionnaire genealogique des familles du Quebec by Rene Jette]. Published in 1983 and lists marriages, births and deaths to 1730 using parish records, census records, notarial records, and others. Jette sometimes lists several generations of a family back in France.
  • At this time, please read about Genealogies in the Province of Quebec Resources - Genealogy.

History

  • Pioneers of the Eastern Townships, an 1863-published book containing information about the formation of settlements, with incidents in their early history. Searchable online edition.($) An index of names and topics is available at Global Genealogy, and a physical copy of the book is available for order there also.
  • At this time, please read about Local Histories in the Province of Quebec Resources - History.

Land and Property

  • List of Persons Taking the Oath of Allegiance at Missisquoi Bay from the Lower Canada (Quebec) Land Records 1795-1797. Commencing in 1795 those persons who had gathered at Missisquoi Bay were required to take an Oath of Allegiance. This document is a transcription of those lists of names.
  • At this time, please read about Land and Property Records in the Province of Quebec Resources - Land and Property.

Maps

At this time, please read about Maps in the Province of Quebec Resources - Maps.

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Missisquoi County for European settlers included:[1]

Military Records

At this time, please read about Military Records in the Province of Quebec Resources - Military Records.

Newspapers & Obituaries

At this time, please read about Newspapers and Obituaries in the Province of Quebec Resources - Newspapers.

Notarial Records

  • Index of John M. McGregor 1851-1879. Images online of the original index, surnames A to J only. John M. McGregor practices in Montreal, Quebec from 1851 to 1854 and in Stanbridge, Quebec from 1854 to 1880.
  • Notary Records - Archives National of Quebec # 500290 Bedford District , Quebec
  • At this time, please read about Notarial Records in the Province of Quebec Resources - Notarial Records.

Probate Records

At this time, please read about Probate Records in the Province of Quebec Resources - Probate Records.

Taxation Records

At this time, please read about Taxation Records in the Province of Quebec Resources - Taxation.

Vital Records

See Civil Registration Records above.

Societies and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 850, 856, and 861. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry.