Missoula County, Montana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Missoula County, Montana)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Montana Gotoarrow.png Missoula County

Guide to Missoula County, Montana ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}





Missoula County, Montana
Map
Map of Montana highlighting Missoula County
Location in the state of Montana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Montana
Location of Montana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 2, 1865
County Seat Missoula
Courthouse
Missoula county courthouse.jpg
Address Missoula County Courthouse
200 W Broadway Street
Missoula, MT 59802-4292
Phone: 406.523.4752
Missoula County Website



Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
1895*
1865*
1895*
1865
1865
1865
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MTGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MTGenWeb Archives
Missoula City
Montana Interment
Billion Graves
See Montana Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Missoula
  • Tyler

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Missoula County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Maps

Mtmissoula.jpg

  • See an interactive map of Missoula County cemeteries and modern-day townships. (Histopolis)

Migration

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Missoula County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Missoula - Probate records.

Public Records

Repositories

Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death from 1895 and land records; Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records[2]

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Libraries

Montana Genealogical Resources in the Missoula Public Library: The Missoula Public Library genealogy collection contains information on Missoula, Lake, Granite, Mineral, Sanders, and Ravalli counties, and to a lesser degree, Lincoln County. Genealogists may also refer to the extensive Montana Collection, located in the Audra Browman Room.

Museums
Societies

Meets the second Tuesday of the month (September, November, January, March and May) at 7:00 pm at the Missoula Public Library. Please visit our website for program announcements.

Taxation

Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.

Birth
Marriage
Death

Websites

Places

Bonner-West Riverside Evaro Orchard Homes
Clinton Frenchtown Seeley Lake
Condon Lolo Wye
East Missoula Missoula






Indian Reservation

A small piece of the Flathead Indian Reservation is in Missoula County. The major part of the reservation is in Lake County. Other small portions are also in Flathead and Sanders Counties.

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 417.