Mitchell County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Mitchell County, Kansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Mitchell County

Guide to Mitchell County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
{{{link}}}

Mitchell County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Mitchell County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 26, 1867
County Seat Beloit
Courthouse
Address Mitchell County Courthouse
111 S. Hershey Ave.
Beloit, Kansas 67420-0190
Phone: 785.738.3652


County Information

Mitchell County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Tax Land Probate
1891 1871 1891 1860 1870 1870

County Courthouse

Mitchell County Courthouse
111 S Hersey Avenue
Beloit, KS 67420
Phone: 785.738.3652

Probate Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [2]

History

Parent County

1867--Mitchell County was created 26 February 1867 from unorganized territory. County seat: Beloit [3]

Boundary Changes

Mitchell County has had no boundary changes.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Mitchell County has the following populated places:

  • Beloit (county seat, 2010 population 3835)
  • Cawker City (2010 population 469)
  • Glen Elder (2010 population 445)
  • Tipton (2010 population 210)
  • Asherville (unincorporated, township population 122)
  • Simpson (2010 population 86)
  • Hunter (2010 population 57)
  • Solomon Rapids (unincorporated, township population 80)
  • Scottsville (2010 population 25)

The county consists of 16 townships:

  • Asherville, population 122
  • Beloi , population 4,003
  • Bloomfield, population 83
  • Blue Hill, population 36
  • Carr Creek, population 31
  • Cawker, population 578
  • Center, population 49
  • Custer, population 132
  • Eureka, population 41
  • Glen Elder, population 553
  • Hayes, population 21
  • Logan, population 168
  • Lulu, population 90
  • Pittsburg, population 346
  • Plum Creek, population 119
  • Round Springs, population 27
  • Salt Creek, population 39
  • Solomon Rapids, population 80
  • Turkey Creek, population 134
  • Walnut Creek, population 42

Neighboring Counties

Ksmitchell.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
KSInterment WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
Kansas Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Mitchell County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps

Military

  • Mitchell County was not organized until after the Civil War.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mitchell County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Online Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Mitchell and click Probate records.


Schools

Beloit, KS High School Alumni Roster: Covers the years 1883-1921

Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth Records
Death Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Mitchell County Historical Society
PO Box 472
Beloit 67420

Mitchell County Historical Society
402 W 8th, Beloit, KS. 67420
Telephone Number: 785-738-5355

Cawker City Public Library and Genealogical Society
PO Box 251
Cawker City, Kansas 67430



Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mitchell County, Kansas page 253, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).