Mitchell County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States  Gotoarrow.png  North Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Mitchell County

Guide to Mitchell County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Mitchell County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Mitchell County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1861
County Seat Bakersville
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaMitchellCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Mitchell Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Mitchell County, North Carolina Genealogy Government Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Land
Probate
1913
1861
1870
1789
1823


Mitchell County Courthouse
Crimson Laurel Way Admin Bldg
P O Box 82
Bakersville, NC 28705
Phone: 828-688-2139

Clerk Superior Court has divorce and probate records from 1861
and Court records from 1912 Regiser of Deeds has marriage and land records [1]  

Register of Deeds
6 Crimson Laurel Circle, Ste. 4
Bakersville, NC 28705
Telephone: 828-688-2139
Fax: 828-688-3666
Website

Clerk of Superior Court
328 Longview Drive
Bakersville, NC 28705
Telephone: (828) 688-5100

History


Parent County

1861--Mitchell County was created 16 February 1861 from Yancey, Watauga, Caldwell,Burke, and McDowell Counties.
County seat: Bakersville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1907--Several records believed to have been destroyed during move into new courthouse.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncmitchell.png

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Mitchell County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Online Records


Regiments. Service men in Mitchell County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Mitchell County, North Carolina Genealogy:


- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 5th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry, Company B
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company E

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

Microfilmed Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Death Records
Divorce Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries 

Toe Valley Genealogical Society
491 Beaver Creek Road
Spruce Pine, NC 28777
website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mitchell County, North Carolina. Page 511 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.