Moldova Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Moldova)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Moldova

Moldova Wiki Topics
Flag of Moldova.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Moldova Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Guide to Moldova ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records,and military records.

Country Information

Moldova is a country in Europe bordered by Romania and Ukraine. It was formerly ruled by Russia. The official language is Romanian.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Moldova Research

Links to articles on getting started with Moldova research.

Moldova Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Moldova research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Moldova Map

Moldova administrative map.png

Jurisdictions

Currently, Moldova is divided into 37 first-tier units,[2] including 32 districts (raioane):

  1. Anenii Noi
  2. Basarabeasca
  3. Briceni
  4. Cahul
  5. Cantemir
  6. Călărași
  7. Căușeni
  8. Cimișlia
  9. Criuleni
  10. Dondușeni
  11. Drochia
  12. Dubăsari
  13. Edineț
  14. Fălești
  15. Florești
  16. Glodeni
  17. Hîncești
  18. Ialoveni
  19. Leova
  20. Nisporeni
  21. Ocnița
  22. Orhei
  23. Rezina
  24. Rîșcani
  25. Sîngerei
  26. Soroca
  27. Strășeni
  28. Șoldănești
  29. Ștefan Vodă
  30. Taraclia
  31. Telenești
  32. Ungheni

Three municipalities:

  1. Chișinău
  2. Bălți
  3. Bender

Two autonomous territorial units:

  1. Gagauzia
  2. Transnistria

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Moldova," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moldova, accessed 27 April 2016.
  2. Administrative-territorial units of Moldova