Monmouth County, New Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Monmouth County, New Jersey)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
New Jersey


Monmouth County


Monmouth County, New Jersey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}


Monmouth County, New Jersey
Map
Map of New Jersey highlighting Monmouth County
Location in the state of New Jersey
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Jersey
Location of New Jersey in the U.S.
Facts
Founded  , 1675
County Seat Freehold
Courthouse
MonmouthCountyCourtHouse.jpg
Address Monmouth County Courthouse
Main St Hall of Records
PO Box 1251
Freehold, NJ 07728
Phone: (732) 431-7324
Monmouth County Website


County Information

Monmouth County, New Jersey Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1790

Monmouth County, New Jersey Historical Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Monmouth County, New Jersey

Parent County

1675: part of East Jersey

1 March 1683: Created from the Colonial lands. [1]

Boundary Changes

1710: boundary changed

1822: water boundary established

1844: part from Middlesex County

1850: Ocean County created from Monmouth and boundary clarified in 1851. [2]

1866: water boundary further clarified

1906: coastal boundary established

1928: part of Howell twp. to Ocean County

1939: part of Middlesex gained.

For animated maps illustrating New Jersey county boundary changes, visit "Rotating Formation New Jersey County Boundary Maps" (1683-1928) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Monmouth County, New Jersey Genealogy Resources

Bible

  1. Monmouth County Historical Association Library, Carol Fisher Megill and Beverly Seward Yackel [3]

Biography

See also: Genealogy, History

  1. Biographical and portrait cyclopedia of the Third congressional district of New Jersey : comprising Middlesex, Monmouth and Somerset counties, together with historical sketch of each county, 1896, Samuel T. Wiley [4] [5]
  2. Biographical and portrait cyclopedia of the Third congressional district of New Jersey : comprising Middlesex, Monmouth and Somerset counties, together with historical sketch of each county, 1896, Samuel T. Wiley (FamilySearch Catalog Fiche 6046405)
  3. Book of the dead of Monmouth, (1915-1917) FamilySearch Books Online; (FamilySearch Catalog Info)
  4. Early courts and lawyers of Monmouth County : beginning at its first settlement, and down to the last half century, 1911 (FamilySearch Catalog Film 1697650 Item 3)
  5. History of Monmouth County, New Jersey, 1885 (FamilySearch Catalog Fiche 6046349) (FamilySearch Catalog Book 974.946 H2e 1974)
  6. History of Monmouth County, New Jersey, 1664-1920 (FamilySearch Catalog Book 974.946 H2h V.1-2)

Cemeteries

Please refer to Populated Places for cemeteries within their localities.

  1. Book of the dead of Monmouth, (1915-1917) (FamilySearch Catalog Info) Digital version at( FamilySearch Books Online)
Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NJGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NJGenWeb Archives
NJTombstone Project
NJInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See New Jersey Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.


Existing churches in Monmouth County, New Jersey

Contains the church records of:
  • Long Branch: Simpson Memorial Methodist Episcopal Church

Court Records

  1. Guardianship

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

African Americans

Black Birth Book of Monmouth County, New Jersey, 1804-1848. Office of the Monmouth County Clerk. FHL Book 974.946 V28m

McKay, Lenora Walker. The Blacks of Monmouth County : a Bicentennial tribute - [S.I]: Monmouth County Business and Professional Women's Council, 1978-F142.M7 M28

Gazetteers

Genealogy

See also: Biography, History

History

Local histories are available for New Jersey counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section New Jersey Local Histories.


Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Maps

Migration

Military

Civil War Regiments. Service men in Monmouth County, New Jersey Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Monmouth County, New Jersey Genealogy:


- 48th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company H.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monmouth County, New Jersey Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Red Bank Register
The Red Bank Register is a free online historical newspaper, covering Red Bank, New Jersey and surrounding areas in Monmouth County. The following is from their website explaining publication dates and the Digitization Project.

"The Red Bank Register is captured on microfilm covering 1878 to 1964 as the Red Bank Register and 1964 to 1991 as the Daily Register. The Digitization Project was a collaborative effort between Middletown Township Public Library and the Red Bank Public Library. Because of the size of the collection, the digitization of all the microfilm was broken down into two phases. The first phase covers June 27, 1878, to December 26, 1923. The second phase covers January 2, 1924, to November 13, 1991, the final issue of the Red Bank Register."

The Independent: 1972-2000 Courtesy of the Matawan - Aberdeen Public Library

Matawan Journal
The Matawan Journal offers online access to its back issues printed from 1869 through 1973. Provided by the Matawan Aberdeen Public Library.

The Independent
The Independent offers online access to its back issues printed from March 1972 through March 2000. Provided by the Matawan Aberdeen Public Library.

Occupations

Periodicals

Poorhouse, Almshouse

Probate Records

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Monmouth County, New Jersey Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Monmouth County, New Jersey Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page New Jersey Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

Obtaining Copies of County Probate Records 

Copies of recorded probate records and the estate files can be obtained from the surrogate's offices for a fee. Addresses of surrogate's offices are found in: 

  • Eichholz, Alice, Editor. Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. Revised Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah: Ancestry, 1992. (Family History Library book 973 D27rb 1992.) Explains state-by-state history, vital records, census, background sources, periodicals, archives, libraries, societies, maps, land, probate, court, tax, cemetery, church, and military records. Includes county boundary map and table which shows when each county was created and the parent counties.

In addition, copies of the original wills, administrations, inventories, and guardianships sent to Trenton since 1901 can be ordered from: 

Clerk of the Superior Court
Records Information Center
P.O. Box 967
Trenton, NJ 08625-0967
Phone: (609) 292-4978
Fax: (609) 777-0094 

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
New Jersey, Middlesex County Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

  1. Indexes
  2. Administrators Bond
  3. Applications for Probate
  4. Inestates
  5. Inventories (guardianship)
  6. Inventories (Estates)
  7. Letters of Administration
  8. Minutes
  9. Partitions of Real Estate
  10. Petitions for Administration
  11. Real Estate bonds
  12. Receipts and Discharges
  13. Records of Wills
  14. Recorded Wills
  15. Sale of Real Estate

Online Probate Records

Repositories

Archives
Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records 1795-1892 and land records from 1667. County Surrogate has probate records. [6]

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Monmouth County Historical Association
70 Court St.
Freehold, NJ 07728
Telephone: 732-462-1466
Website

Monmouth County Historical Commission
Hall of Records, Rm 201
Freehold, NJ 07728
Telephone: 732-431-7413
Fax: 732-409-4820
E-mail:John.Fabiano@co.monmouth.nj.us
Website

Howell Historical Society
427 Lakewood-Farmingdale Road
Howell
Telephone: 732-938-2212

Keyport Historical Society
Broad Street
Keyport, NJ 07735
Telephone: 732-739-6390

Matawan Historical Society
94 Main St
Matawan, NJ 07747
Telephone: 732-566-5605

Middletown Township Historical Society
900 Leonardville Rd
Leonardo, NJ 07737
Telephone: 732-615-2260

Neptune Township Historical Society
25 Neptune Blvd.
Neptune NJ

Ocean Grove, Historical Society Of
53 Central Avenue
Ocean Grove NJ

Old Wall Historical Society
1701 New Bedford Rd
Belmar, NJ 07719
Telephone: 732-974-1430

Spring Lake Historical Society
5th and Warren Avenue
Spring Lake 07762
Telephone: 732-449-0772
Website

Shrewsbury Historical Society
419 Sycamore Ave.
Shrewsbury

Spring Lake Historical Society
5th and Warren Avenue
Spring Lake 07762
Telephone: 732-449-0772

Squan Village Historical Society
105 South Street
Manasquan, NJ 08736
Telephone: 732-223-6770
Website


Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Hudson County,  New Jersey

Schools

Taxation

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.


Monmouth County, New Jersey Web Sites

Monmouth County, New Jersey Neighboring Counties

Monmouth County

Monmouth County, New Jersey Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  3. "FamilySearch Catalog Book 974.946 D2me v. 1-2" (Freehold, New Jersey : Monmouth County Historical Association, c1990-2004).
  4. "FamilySearch Catalog Film 1425604 Item 1" (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the GSU, 1985).
  5. Biographical and portrait cyclopedia of the Third congressional district of New Jersey, comprising Middlesex, Monmouth and Somerset counties, together with an historical sketch of each county (Philadelphia: Biographical Pub. Co., 1896), [FamilySearch Catalog Film 1425604 Item 1 and Fiche 6046405 ].
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Monmouth County, New Jersey page 464, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.


Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Monmouth_County,_New_Jersey_Genealogy&oldid=2776567"