Monroe County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Monroe County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Monroe County

Guide to Monroe County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Monroe County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 6, 1831
County Seat Paris
Courthouse
MissouriMonroeCourthouse.jpg
Address Monroe County Courthouse
300 N Main Street
Paris, MO 65275-1399
Phone: 660.327.1019
Monroe County Website


County Information

Monroe County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1831 1883 1840 1831 1832

County Courthouse


Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage, divorce and court records; Probate Judge has probate records; County Assessor has land records.[2]

History

Parent County

1831 Monroe County was created 6 January 1831 from Ralls County. County seat: Paris [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Audrain  • Macon  • Marion  • Ralls  • Randolph  • Shelby

Monroe CountyShelby CountyMarion CountyRalls CountyMacon CountyRandolph CountyHoward CountyChariton CountyBoone CountyPike CountyPike CountyLincoln CountyMontgomery CountyAudrain CountyAdams CountyMOMonroe.JPG



Resources

African American

  • 1865 - 1881 Monroe County Colored Marriage Book 1 Index 1865-1881. Batch M515873 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MOInterment
MOGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

St. Stephen's Church, Indian Creek

  • 1833 - 1875 St. Stephen's Church, Indian Creek, Baptism Index 1833-1875. Batch C520471 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1835-1885 - St. Stephen's Church, Indian Creek, Marriage Index 1835-1885. Batch M520471 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Monroe County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Monroe and Shelby counties, Missouri . . . : including a history of their townships, towns and villages together with a condensed history of Missouri . . . biographical sketches of prominent citizens. St. Louis, Missouri : National Historical Co., 1884.

Maps

Momonroe.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Monroe County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Monroe County, Missouri:

- 39th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 1st Northeast Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company C
- 1st Northeast Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 1st Northeast Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company F
- 1st Northeast Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
- 1st Northeast Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company M
- 70th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A

- 70th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 70th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company Detailed
- 70th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 70th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 70th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B<br - 70th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


  • Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Moberly newspapers from the early 1900's that covered local news on residents from Monroe County communities.

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

List of Missouri Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Libraries

Little Dixie Regional Libraires (Randolph and Monroe counties)

Historical Society

Monroe County Historical Society
PO Box 131
Paris, MO 65275
Phone: 660-327-1831
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Monroe County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Monroe County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Monroe Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Monroe County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Monroe County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Genealogy.com Monroe County, MO Genealogy Forum
Ancestry.com Monroe County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Monroe County, Missouri. Page 403 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.