Montgomery County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Montgomery County, Kansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Montgomery County

Guide to Montgomery County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


Montgomery County, Kansas
Map of Kansas highlighting Montgomery County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Founded February 26, 1867
County Seat Independence
Address Montgomery County Courthouse
217 E. Myrtle
P.O. Box 446
Independence, Kansas 67301-0446
Phone: 316.330.1200

County Information

Montgomery County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Tax Land Probate
1888 1870 1887 1860 1870 1870

County Courthouse

Montgomery County Courthouse
217 E Myrtle; PO Box 446;
Independence, KS 67301
Phone: 316.330.1200

County Clerk has birth and death records 1886-1911.
Probate Court has marriage and probate records from 1870.
Clerk District Court has divorce and court records from 1870.
Register of deeds has land records from 1870. [2]


Parent County

  • 1867--Montgomery County was created 26 February 1867 from Wilson County. County seat: Independence [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties




Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
KSGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
Kansas Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information.


Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Montgomery County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.



  • For information about Civil War records see Wilson County.


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Online Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Montgomery and click Probate records.


Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth Records
Death Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Montgomery County Historical Society
PO Box 100
Independence 67301

Montgomery County Genealogy Society
PO Box 444
Coffeyville 67337

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, Kansas page 253, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).