Montgomeryshire, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Montgomeryshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngMontgomeryshire

Wales Wiki Topics
Y ddraig goch.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to Montgomeryshire, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


{{{link}}}

Historic Montgomeryshire

WalesMontgomeryshire

Montgomeryshire (Welsh: Sir Drefaldwyn or Maldwyn) was one of thirteen historic counties of Wales. The county is bounded to the north by Denbighshire, to the east and south-east by Shropshire (England), to the south by Radnorshire, to the south-west by Cardiganshire and to the west and north-west by Merionethshire.

It took it's name from Roger de Montgomerie, 1st Earl of Shrewsbury, one of William the Conqueror's main counsellors,

The county was formed shortly after the Act of Union of 1535 of Wales and England. The borders of Montgomeryshire corresponded roughly to the medieval kingdom of Powys Wenwynwyn and its cantrefi (hundreds) included Cyfeiliog; Arwystli; Mawddwy; Mochnant; Deuddwy; Ystrad Marchell and Gorddwr, and also included the Lordships of Cydewain and Mechain.

Chapman Code: MGY


1974-1996 Powys

WalesPowys

Under the Local Government Act 1972, the county of Montgomeryshire was abolished, for both local government and ceremonial purposes, on April 1, 1974. All of the former county of Montgomeryshire became part of the newly formed county of Powys which covered the whole of east-central Wales.

Modern Powys

Modern Powys

Although further local government reorganisation took place in 1996, this had little effect on the county of Powys

Parishes


Topics


Research tools