Moore County, Tennessee Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Moore County, Tennessee)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Tennessee Gotoarrow.png Moore County


Moore County, Tennessee ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to Moore County (established 1871) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}


Moore County, Tennessee
Map
Boundary map of Moore County, Tennessee
Map of Tennessee highlighting Moore County
Location in the state of Tennessee
Map of the U.S. highlighting Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: December 14, 1871
County Seat Lynchburg
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Quick Dates

Moore County's civil records start the following years:[1]

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1881 1872 1908 1880 1872 1872

County Courthouse

Moore County Courthouse
Public Square
Lynchburg, TN 37352
Phone: 931.759.7028 

Register of Deeds has land records.
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death,
and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Court has court records.
[2]

Records are located at the courthouse.
Mailing address is P.O. Box 206, Lynchburg, TN 37352.

Hours:
Mon., Tues., Wed., Fri. 8 a.m.-4 p.m.
Sat. 8 a.m.-12 p.m.
Closed Thursdays

History

Middle Tennessee county in the Chestnut Ridge region. Established 1871.

The county is named after "Tennessee state legislator William Moore."[3]

Parent County

1871--Moore County was established 14 December 1871 from Lincoln, Franklin, Coffee, and Bedford Counties.
County seat: Lynchburg [2]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[4] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[5] (male)

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Bakertown Hurdlow Lynchburg Raysville
Countyline Ledfords Mill Marble Hill Ridgeville
Cumberland Springs Liberty Hill Mount Herman
Hickory Hill Lois Pleasant Hill

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Tnmoore.png

Research Guides

African American

United States African Americans go to Tennessee African Americans

Biographies

Cemeteries

Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
TNGenWeb WorldCat BillionGraves
Tombstone Project
TNGenWeb Cemeteries
BillionGraves
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

Census

1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 Moore County federal population schedules are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

1810 - 1891

1890 Lost Substitutes are available:

  • Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 6 1891. Pickett County is included in Vol. 6.
  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.

1891 Male Voters

Church

Court

DNA

DNA Double Helix.png
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Moore County residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.
  • Doss - Descendant of Samuel H. Doss, b. 1803 Virginia, resident of Shelby and Moore counties, Tennessee; Illinois; and Madison County, Arkansas. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 85939). Genetic signature available online (labeled Sh-1), genealogical description available online, courtesy: The Doss DNA Project, World Families. Matches have been found.

Family Histories

This bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" (Friends, Associates, and Neighbors)

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Moore, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 4,000 entries.

Bibliography

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

War of 1812
  • Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 2 (Apr. 1961):49-52. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. Includes Moore County pensioners (p. 49).
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Civil War service men from Moore County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Moore County:

Confederate Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Moore County:

Newspapers

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Moore County click on the following city:

Occupations

  • Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. Includes Moore County.

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:


Ansearchin' News
Genealogical articles with abstracts of Moore County, Tennessee Genealogy records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.


The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History
Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Moore County, Tennessee have been published in The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, the quarterly of the Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society (23+ Vols.). To view a list of these articles, visit their online Index to Articles (1988-2016). Surname indexes are also available online for Vols. 2-22. The website also offers back issues for sale in paper and on CD. The Family History Library has a complete collection of this quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.85 D25m.

Probate Records

The Moore County Court and Chancery Court have responsibility for probate records.

Online Records

FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:

  • Wills, 1872-1966
  • Bonds, 1872-1966
  • Settlements, 1871-1962 (7 vols.)

Taxation

The following Moore County tax records have been abstracted:[6]

  • 1860 - Tax List, 1860, District 1, Moore County Review, Vol. 9, No. 2 (Jul. 1998).

Vital Records

See also How to order Tennessee Vital Records or order electronically online.

See also Tennessee Vital Records

Birth
  • 1881 - 1882 - Moore County Clerk.Vital statistics, births and deaths 1908-1911, births 1881-1882. Manuscript. TSLA, 1967. FHL 501086
Marriage

State Marriage Records

The original Moore County marriage records are kept at the County Courthouse. The following Moore County marriage records are microfilmed:

  • 1872 - 1988 - Available at the TSLA.
  • 1872 - 1966 - Available at the Family History Library. Some volumes are indexed.FHL 501075

The following Moore County marriage records have been indexed:

  • 1915 - 1978 - Tennessee, Chancery Court. Chancery Court Records (Moore County, Tennessee)1830-1993; index, 1915-1978. Manuscript. Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2007. FHL 1572735

Moore County is not included in Sistler's Early Middle Tennessee Marriages.

Death
  • 1908 - 1911 - Moore County Clerk.Vital statistics, births and deaths 1908-1911, births 1881-1882. Manuscript. TSLA, 1967. FHL 501086

For deaths of Methodists in Moore County (or what became Moore County) between the 1830s and the 1920s, try searching the following records:

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Tennessee Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Moore County Historical and Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 408
Lynchburg, TN 37352
Phone: 1-931-759-7285
E-mail: georgestone@cafes.net
Archive located in the basement of the County Building in Lynchburg
Hours: Fridays 9 am - 3 pm
Phone: 1-931-759-7068
E-mail: moorecountyarchives@yahoo.com

Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Moore County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005

Moore County Public Library
P.O. Box 408
Lynchburg, TN 37352
Phone: 1-931-759-7285
Hours: Mon., Wed., Fri. 10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Tues. 1-8 p.m.
Sat. 9 a.m.-12 p.m.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Moore County, Tennessee

References

  1. "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Moore County, Tennessee page 642, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002. Cite error: Invalid <ref> tag; name "HBG" defined multiple times with different content
  3. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  4. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  5. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  6. The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
  7. 7.0 7.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/88/Igitennesseel.pdf. Cite error: Invalid <ref> tag; name "vr" defined multiple times with different content