Moreton, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Moreton, Cheshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Moreton

Guide to Moreton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

MORETON, with Lingham, a township, in the parish of Bidstone, union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Wirrall, S. division of the county of Chester, 4 miles (W. by N.) from Birkenhead. [1]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church Records

Moreton Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Moreton Christ Church (1863) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1863-1909

At one time Moreton was a chapelry in the parish of Bidstone. The church is known as Christ Church. 

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Moreton, 1863-1954, Cheshire Record Office no.: P156/1/1-3, P156/2/1-3.

Parish Registers: Moreton Film
Baptisms, 1863-1906. Marriages, 1864-1936.
1656603 Items 9 - 10
Baptisms, 1906-1938.
2197435 Items 8 - 9
Marriages, 1936-1954.
2262878 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for Moreton, 1863-1894, Cheshire Record Office: EDB 149

Bishops Transcripts: Moreton
Baptisms, 1863-1892, burials, 1863-1875, 1868-1892, baptisms, burials, 1893, baptisms, 1894.
1647521 Item 3

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Roman Catholic

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1837-1928)

Poor Law Unions

  • Wirral (1836-1928)

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 342-345. Date accessed: 24 January 2014.