Moreton Morrell, Warwickshire Genealogy
|Moreton Morrell, Warwickshire|
|Poor Law Union||Stratford on Avon|
|Registration District||Stratford on Avon|
|Parish registers: 1678|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Moreton Morrell is a small parish that is bounded on the east by the Fosse Way and on the other three sides by small streams. It contains an insignificant hill "Merehull" now Morrell. Moreton occupies the southern portion of the parish.
MORETON-MORRELL, a parish in Stratford-on-Avon district, Warwickshire; on the Fosse way, 5 miles WSW of Harbury r. station, and 6¾ S by E of Warwick. Post town, Kineton, under Warwick.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Moreton Morrell, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).|
|Moreton Morrell, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464173.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Saltzman, F., A History of the County of Warwick: Volume 5: Kington hundred, (1949). Date accessed and adapted: 13 November 2013.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 13 November 2013.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.