Morris, New York

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png New York Gotoarrow.png Otsego County Gotoarrow.png Town of Morris


Guide to Morris, New York ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


Resources

Church Records

Zion Episcopal Church

Address:
PO Box 156
158 Main Street
Morris, NY 13808

Parish Historian: Gary Norman
(607) 263-5965
gary@gatehousebooks.net

The church has parish registers, vestry minutes and accounts dating back to the early 19th century. Some of these records are on-line at:
morris.advantage-preservation.com

In addition, a finding aid for the Zion Church records is available at: https://familysearch.org/photos/documents/13577741

Newspapers

Morris Chronicle

http://morris.advantage-preservation.com/

Otsego Chronicle

http://morris.advantage-preservation.com/

Otsego Farmer

http://fultonhistory.com/my%20photo%20albums/All%20Newspapers/Cooperstown%20NY%20Otsego%20Farmer/index.html

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Village Library of Morris

PO Box 126
152 Main Street
Morris, NY 13808
(607) 263-2080
mo.ill@4cls.org

Manager: Gary Norman

The library maintains a collection of books on New York History, and especially Morris, New York and locality. They also furnish online access to the Morris Chronicles at the following website:
morris.advantage-preservation.com .

Town Historian

Donna Foote Henderson
PO Box 242
Morris, NY 13808-0242

Societies

Morris Historical Society

PO Box 332
152 Main Street
Morris, NY 13808
(607) 263-5965
gary@gatehousebooks.net

President: Gary Norman

The society maintains collections dealing the the history, people, businesses and structures of the Village of Morris (Louisville) and Town of Morris, New York

Town Records

Town Clerk

Linda Ewing
P.O. Box 117
Morris, NY 13808
Phone: 607–263-5944
Hours: Tues.,Wed. and Thurs. 9-1pm

Town of Morris

93 Main St.
Morris, NY 13808
Phone: 607–263-5944

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Morris, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records

References

Places