Morton (near Lincoln), Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Morton (near Lincoln), Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Morton (near Lincoln), Lincolnshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Boothby-Graffo
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

Morton is an extra parochial place near Lincoln. MORTON, an extra parochial liberty, in the Higher division of the wapentake of Boothby-Graffo, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 8 miles (S. W. by W.) from Lincoln. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Morton is an extra parochial area near Lincoln.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Morton (near Lincoln)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438758.

Poor Law Unions

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 08 September 2013.