Morton County, North Dakota Genealogy
Guide to Morton County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
Its county seat is Mandan. The county was originally created in 1873 and later organized in 1878. The county was named for Oliver Hazard Perry Throck Morton (1823-1877), governor of Indiana during the American Civil War and later a United States Senator. It was later organized again on November 23, 1916.
Morton County Courthouse
210 2nd Ave NW
Mandan, ND 58554
Morton County Website
Clerk District Court has birth records from 1883, marriage records from 1888, death records from 1873, burial records from 1943, divorce and probate records from 1900’s and court records from late 1800’s;
Register of Deeds has land records from late 1800’s
Morton County, North Dakota Record Dates
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|1873--Morton County was created 8 January 1873 from unorganized territory.|
County seat: Mandan 
The following are locations in the county
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- Odessa Digital Library has cemetery transcriptions for cemeteries in Morton county, providing name, date of birth, and date of death where available.
State Census Records
- 1885 Dakota Territory 1885 Census Index at NDSU Archives – index only
- 1885, 1915, 1925 North Dakota, Territorial and State Censuses, 1885, 1915, 1925 at Ancestry – ($), index and images
- 1915 North Dakota Census, 1915 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images
- 1925 North Dakota Census, 1925 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images
Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for North Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.
- 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930 - Morton County Census Records (USGenWeb Project). Choose "Census Data" to see records available, including some indexes of surnames.
- 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930 - Morton County Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.
- 1822-1995 U.S. City Directories 1822-1995 at Ancestry ($) - collection for the City of Mandan
- 1916 - Heil Business Directory (Morton County, North Dakota, USGenWeb Archives)
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Land and Property Records
When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.
Online Land Records
- Index to Morton County BLM Land Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1861 - 1908 - U.S. Homestead Records 1861-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
For more information see North Dakota Land and Property
Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Morton County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.
- 100 years of faith, 1897-1997; St. Anthony's Catholic Church; St. Anthony, North Dakota. 1997?. By Elfreda Ziniel. St. Anthony, North Dakota : St. Anthony's Catholic Church; St. Anthony, North Dakota. Online at:; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Flasher, ND centennial, 1902-2002. 2002?. S.l. : s.n. Online at:; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Mantani A history of Mandan - Morton County including Fort McKeen and Fort Abraham Lincoln : 1738-1964. 1964. By Sarah Tostevin. Mandan, North Dakota : The Mandan Chamber of Commerce. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
- Morton prairie roots. 1975. By Marion Plath Peterson. Mandan, North Dakota : Morton County Historical Society. Online at:; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of North Dakota - shows boundary changes for North Dakota Counties
- North Dakota Maps at NDGenWeb -historical maps
- 1861-1865 - Dakota Territory Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.
- 1883 - Pensioners on the Rolls as of January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1890 - United States Census of Union Veterans and Widows of the Civil War, 1890 at FamilySearch.
World War I
- 1917-1918 - North Dakota Military Men 1917-1918 at Ancestry ($)
- 1917-1918 - Roster of the men and women who served in the army or naval service (including the Marine Corps) of the United States or its allies from the state of North Dakota in the World War, 1917-1918, Vols. 1-4 at Ancestry ($)
- World War I Casualties, Morton County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
World War II
- World War II Army Casualties, Morton County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
- World War II Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard Casualties, Morton County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
- Korean War Casualties, Morton County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
- Vietnam War Casualties, Morton County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
For further information see North Dakota Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- North Dakota Naturalization Records Index at NDSU Archives – index only, covers various dates and counties
For more information see North Dakota Newspapers.
North Dakota Newspapers Online
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of North Dakota newspapers GenealogyBank] - ($), contains images of North Dakota newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of North Dakota newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some North Dakota newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
- State Historical Society of North Dakota - contains inventory and catalog of all known ND newspapers
- Morton County Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Morton County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1985 North Dakota and South Dakota Wills and Probate Records 1800-1985 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Flasher School History:
Flasher is a city within Morton County, North Dakota
The first school house was a one room building completed in 1902. The first regular school term was 1903-1904, there were 30 pupils. The original building of what is now the Flasher Public School was built in 1911. High school was started in the fall of 1916 with a small enrollment. From this small beginning the enrollment increased and more room was needed. The first formal graduation ceremony took place in 1922 with three graduating students.
In the spring of 1957, due to increased enrollment, it became necessary to enlarge the educational facilities. Included in the new addition were a gymnasium and a shop. In 1958 the Flasher School District 39 went through the task of reorganization. As a result, the following are now part of the Flasher School District No. 39: Weekes, Fairview, Big Bend, Fair Valley, part of Oak Coulee, Lark, Lonesome, part of Raleigh, part of Three Buttes, Freda, Timmer and Shields. In 1965 a new section of the elementary classrooms was built and in 1975 four more classrooms were added.
Taken from: ""School Reunion 1922-1977, Schools of Flasher, Freda, Raleigh"" Saturday, June 18 1977"
County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.
Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.
- Morton County Marriage Announcements (Genealogy Trails)
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1892-present - NDDH Public Death Index, 1892-present at North Dakota Dept. of Health – index only
- 1928 - Burials from Rev Hausauer's ledger, Congregational Denomination (USGenWeb Archives)
- Links to Morton County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives]
- Morton County Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
North Dakota State University Archives
West Building 3551 7th Avenue
N Fargo, ND 58102
Libraries NDSU Dept #2080
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
Glen Ullin Museum and Auxiliary
6285 46th St.
Glen Ullin, ND 58631
Morton County Historical Society
4248 43rd Ave
New Salem, ND 58563-9805
Almont Historical Society
4149 Co Rd 86
Almont, ND 58520
Flasher Historical Society / Pioneer Square Community Center
c/o Ted Riehl
PO Box 181
Flasher, ND 58535-0181
Glen Ullin Historical Society Archives
PO Box 209
Glen Ullin, ND 58631-0209
New Salem Historical Society
4248 43rd Ave
New Salem, ND 58563-9805
Sims Historical Society
4145 County Road 86
Sims, ND 58520
Germans From Russia Heritage Society
1125 W Turnpike Ave
Bismarck-Mandan Hisrotical and Genealogical Society, Inc.
PO Box 485
Bismarck ND 58502-0485
- Morton County, North Dakota, USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- Morton County, North Dakota, USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
- Morton County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Morton County Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Morton County, North Dakota, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Morton County, North Dakota Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morton County, North Dakota. Page 525 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Morton County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.