Mou Parish, Ålborg, Denmark

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Denmark > Ålborg > Mou

History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Mou Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift Add here
Pastorat Add here
Amt 1662 - 1793 Aalborghus
Amt 1794 - 1970 Ålborg
Herred Fleskum
Kommune Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 126
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 41
Retskreds Add here
Skifteretten Add here
Gods Add here


Place Names

Baliholt, Birkely, Birkesø, Blegagergaard, Bommen, Bredsig, Brøndbjerge, Brøndbjerggaard, Dokkedal, Dødemands Kol, Egense, Egense Fælled, Egensekloster, Egensekloster Skov, Egense Ledefyr, Ellebæksminde, Elleskov, Elmely, Enghavegaard, Englyst, Engskov, Fjordskolen, Fjordvang, Fladkærgaard, Flansbæk, Frihedsminde, Frombjerg, Frydenstrand, Gammel Høstemark, Gammel Stærsiggrøft, Gulhøj, Hals Barre, Haslevgaard Aa, Havgaard, Hedestederne, Hjørnet, Haadybet, Høstemark, Høstemark Møllegaard, Høstemark Skov, Høstemark Teglværk, Jagtgaarden, Kalmarsgaard, Klattrup, Klattrup Huse, Knarmovgaarde, Korsholm, Kragholtgaard, Kujegrund, Kærsholm, Ladefogedgaard, Ladestedsrevl, Langager, Langeland, Langelandsgaarde, Lergraven, Lille Vildmose, Lillesø, Mosegrøft, Mosegaard, Mou, Mou Bro, Moubæk, Mou Hede, Mou Kær, Mulbjerg Grund, Mulbjerge, Mølgaarde, Møllegaard Huse, Møllesø, Møltoft, Nordmandshage, Nordskoven, Ny Høstemark, Ottestrup, Petershøj, Randbjerggaard, Rolighedsgaarden, Rolighedslund, Russergrøft, Raalsminde, Rødagergaard, Saltbæk, Sindholt, Skansegaarden, Skelbæk , Skelgrøft, Skellet, Skelmarkgaard, Skovgaard, Skuebæk, Starsiggaard, Storvorde Østerenge, Strebæk, Stærbogaard, Stærbækgaard, Stærsiggrøft, Søvang, Teglgaard, Thorsminde, Thygesminde, Tinggaard, Toftesø, Tørmandsgrund, Tøtmosegaard, Vagten, Vejdyb, Vejlbæk, Vester Langeland, Vesterskov, Vildmosegaard, Voldbjerge, Øster Langeland

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Aalborg Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Denmark, Aalborg" and then select your parish.


References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 3d ed. Vol. 4, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.