Moulsham, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Moulsham, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png EssexGotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to Moulsham, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Moulsham, Essex
Moulsham St John the Evangelist Essex.jpg
Moulsham St John the Evangelist Essex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chelmsford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Chelmsford
Registration District Chelmsford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837
Bishop's Transcripts: 1849
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chelmsford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Moulsham, is a hamlet, in the parish, union, and hundred of Chelmsford, S. division of Essex, ¾ of a mile S W from Chelmsford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Moulsham, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Moulsham, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1837-1981
1839-1957
1837-1926
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Irvingite/Catholic Apostolic Church
  • Roman Catholic
  • Strict Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241364.


Poor Law Unions

Chelmsford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Moulsham on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England(1848) Adapted: date accessed 19 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 11 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.