Moulton, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Moulton, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Moulton, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Moulton, Lincolnshire
All Saints Moulton Lincolnshire.jpg
All Saints Moulton Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elloe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Spalding
Registration District Spalding
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holland
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

MOULTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Spalding, wapentake of Elloe, parts of Holland, county of Lincoln, 4 miles (W.) from Holbeach. The Wesleyans, and Methodists of the New Connexion, have places of worship.[1]

Additional information:

Moulton All Saints is an Ancient Parish and the church is often referred to locally as "The Queen of the Fens". It includes the hamlets of Austindyke, Eaugate and Seasend.

The church was built in the 12th-13th century and in 1722 the unusual octagonal chapel of ease at Moulton Chapel was built within the parish. See Moulton Chapel, Lincolnshire

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Moulton sub-district of Spalding registration district Search registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Moulton Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Moulton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438753.


Poor Law Unions

Spalding Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Moulton/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 September 2013.