Moxley, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Moxley, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||North Seisdon; South Offlow|
|Poor Law Union||Walsall; Wolverhampton|
|Registration District||Walsall; West Bromwich|
|Parish registers: 1838|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
MOXLEY, a village in Wednesbury parish, and a chapelry partly also in Darlaston and Wolverhampton parishes, Stafford. The village stands near the Oxford, Birmingham, and Wolverhampton railway, 1 mile S E of Bilston.
Moxley is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1845 fromDarlaston, Staffordshire Ancient Parish and Wednesbury St Bartholomew, Staffordshire Ancient Parish and Bilston, Staffordshire Ecclesiastical Parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Moxley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|MOXLEY ALL SAINTS (1838) PARISH Online Records|
Moxley Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|MOXLEYWESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1844) Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474615.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- 70-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales&amp;amp;amp;st=Moxley
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
- 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 August 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.