Mozambique Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Mozambique)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Mozambique

Mozambique Wiki Topics
Flag of Mozambique.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Mozambique Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Mozambique ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Mozambique is a country in Africa bordered by Swaziland, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi, and Tanzania. It was formerly under the fule of Portugal. The official language is Portuguese.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Mozambique Research

Links to articles on getting started with Mozambique research.

Mozambique Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Mozambique research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Mozambique Clickable Map and Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Mozambique. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.



Mozambique is divided into ten provinces (Portuguese: provincias) and one capital city, Maputo, with provincial status.The provinces are divided into 129 districts (distritos), which are further divided into 405 Administrative Posts (Postos Administrativos). These are divided into Localities (Localidades), which are the lowest geographical level of the central state administration.

The following are the Provinces of Mozambique and their capital cities:

Province                       Capital of Province

  1. Cabo Delegado                    Pemba     
  2. Gaza                                    Xai-Xai
  3. Inhambane                           Inhambane
  4. Manica                                 Chimoio
  5. Maputo (Capital)                        -
  6. Maputo                                Matola
  7. Nampula                              Nampula
  8. Niassa                                 Lichinga
  9. Sofala                                  Beira
  10. Tete                                     Tete
  11. Zambezia                             Quelimane
Maputo (Capital)MaputoGazaInhambaneManicaSofalaTeteZambeziaNampulaNiassaCabo DelegadoMozambique Provinces.jpg
About this image

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Mozambique," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mozambique, accessed 25 April 2016.