Muggleswick, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Muggleswick, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Muggleswick, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Muggleswick, Durham
Muggleswick All Saints Co Durham.jpg
Muggleswick All Saints Co Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union Lanchester
Registration District Durham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1784
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

MUGGLESWICK, a parish, in the union of Lanchester W. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 14 miles (S. W.) from Gateshead.[1]

Additional information: The Muggleswick All Saints parish is a large and Ancient Parish. The earlier church stones were reused in the building in 1728 of the parish church which has no recorded dedication. Further rebuliding was underataken in the 1850's. The parish includes Muggleswick Common Cold Rowley and Rowley and is a peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Durham.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Muggleswick, Durham Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = FamilySearch - free[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
MUGGLESWICK PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs
1813-1903 1813-1846
1813-1902
PALL

1790-1812


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/184 1765-1852 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1780-1975 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL.

The Parish Registers are deposited at Northumberland Record Office, Melton Park, North Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE3 5QX for the periods:-

  • Baptisms 1813-1903
  • Marriages 1813-1975
  • Burials 1813-1902

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241349.


Poor Law Unions

Lanchester Poor Law Union,Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Muggleswick on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.