Murray County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Murray County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.pngMurray County

Murray County, Oklahoma
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Murray County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Founded July 16, 1907
County Seat Sulphur
Address Murray County Courthouse
10th& Wyandotte Street
Sulphur, Oklahoma 73086-0240
Phone: 580.622.3920

Murray County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


County Information

Murray County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1908 1907 1907 1906 1907

County Courthouse

Murray County Courthouse
10th Wyandotte Street
Sulphur, OK 7386
Phone: 580.622.3920

County Clerk has land records; Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records[1]


Parent County

1907--Murray County was created 16 July 1907 from Chickasaw Lands.
County seat: Sulphur [2]


Founded in 1907. Murray County is located in the southeastern quarter of Oklahoma. Named for William H. "Alfalfa Bill" Murray, president of the 1906 Constitutional Convention Its county seat is Sulphur. [3]

The Largest city is Sulphur. [4]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Populated Places [5]

  • Davis
  • Dougherty
  • Hickory
  • Joy
  • Oak Grove
  • Sulphur (county seat)

Neighboring Counties


American Indians


Land and Property


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
OKGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
USGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Oklahoma Gravestones
Oklahoma Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information.


Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 12,744
1920 13,115 2.9%
1930 12,410 −5.4%
1940 13,841 11.5%
1950 10,775 −22.2%
1960 10,622 −1.4%
1970 10,669 0.4%
1980 12,147 13.9%
1990 12,042 −0.9%
2000 12,623 4.8%
2010 13,488 6.9%
Source: "".

For tips on accessing Murray County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.


Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Murray County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.




Revolutionary War
Civil War


Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Murray County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • ($) has historical newspapers online including Ada newspapers that may have included Murray County residents. This database is sometimes free at libraries.


Online Records

School Records


Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records


Online Birth Records Indexes and Images


Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images


Online Death Records Indexes and Images


Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

Arbuckle Historical Society
402 W Muskogee Ave
Sulphur, OK 73086
Telephone: 580-622-5593

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Murray County, Oklahoma. Page 561 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Murray County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,,_Oklahoma, accessed 6 August 2016.