Musselshell County, Montana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Musselshell County, Montana)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Montana Gotoarrow.png Musselshell County

Guide to Musselshell County, Montana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Roundup
Organized: February 11, 1911
Parent County(s): Fergus and Yellowstone[1]
Neighboring Counties
Fergus  • Golden Valley  • Petroleum  • Rosebud  • Yellowstone
See County Maps
Courthouse
MontanaMusselshellCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Montana highlighting Musselshell County.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

Musselshell County is located in the central area of the state. Its county seat is Roundup. It was founded in 1911.[2]

County Courthouse

Musselshell County Courthouse
506 Main Street
Roundup, Montana 59072-2498
Phone: 406-323-1104
Musselshell County Website

County Clerk Recorder has birth, death and land records from 1911;
Clerk of Court has marriage, divorce, probate, military and court records from 1911[3]

Musselshell County, Montana Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1911*
1895*
1911*
1911
1911
1911
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes


Parent County: created 11 February 1911 from Fergus and Yellowstone
County seat: Roundup [4]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county from Wikipedia: [5]

Cities
Towns
Census-designated places


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Musselshell County, Montana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Montana Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1920 12,030
1930 7,242 −39.8%
1940 5,717 −21.1%
1950 5,408 −5.4%
1960 4,888 −9.6%
1970 3,734 −23.6%
1980 4,428 18.6%
1990 4,106 −7.3%
2000 4,497 9.5%
2010 4,538 0.9%
Source: [1]

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Montana starting in 1870. For links to federal census indexes, see Montana Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Musselshell County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Musselshell County

Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Montana. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Montana Military Records.
Civil War

World War I

World War II

For further information see Montana Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Montana Newspapers Online

  • GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of Montana newspapers
  • Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of Montana newspapers
  • Chronicling America - contains images of some Montana newspapers; searching tips
  • Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
  • Montana newspapers including Billings newspapers that may include residents of Musselshell County. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Montana Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Musselshell County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

See also United States Obituaries for more about finding United States obituaries.

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Musselshell - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

524 First Street West
Roundup, Montana 59072
(406)-323-1525, (406)-323-1662

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Musselshell_County,_Montana accessed 11/18/2016
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 417.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Musselshell County, Montana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Musselshell_County,_Montana, accessed 5 December 2016.