Myddfai, Carmarthenshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngMyddfai

A guide to genealogy in Myddfai, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Myddfai is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

The redundant spelling of Mothvey can be seen in some older documents.

History

MOTHVEY (MYDDFAI), a parish, comprising the Upper and Lower divisions, in the union of LLANDOVERY, higher division of the hundred of PERVERTH, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 3 miles (S.) from Llandovery. The surface is boldly undulated, and in some parts hilly and even mountainous; the lands, with the exception of a considerable portion of rocky and sterile ground, are inclosed and in a high state of cultivation. The luxuriant richness of the vales is finely contrasted with the rugged barrenness of the mountains; and the numerous rivers that flow through the lower grounds add greatly to the beauty of the scenery. A small woollen manufacture is carried on; and there are two king's mills in the parish, Kilgwyn and Brân. The church, dedicated to St. Michael is an ancient structure, situated in a vale at the foot of the mountainous district adorned with many handsome monuments and tablets. There are two places of worship for Independents, and one for Calvinistic Methodists. During the thirteenth century this place was much frequented by physicians, among whom was Rhiwallon.[1]

For more information on Myddfai see Myddfai at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464312.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

  • [1] at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.