Nätra parish, Sweden Genealogy
Europe SwedenVästernorrland County Nätra parish
Guide to Nätra parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Back to Sweden►
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 4 Related Sources
- 5 Collections
- 5.1 Census Records
- 5.2 Church Records
- 5.3 Military Records
- 5.4 Related Sources
- 5.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 5.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 5.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 5.8 Societies and Libraries
- 5.9 References
Nätra was mentioned as its own gäll in 1314 along with the parish of Sidensjö (which was ) created the same century. Since the beginning of the 1600's the pastor from Nätra would usually preach 2 sermons a year at the Ulvö fishing village..
|Stift||pre - 1647 Uppsala Ärke, 1647 - to present Härnösand|
|Pastorat||Up to the early 1500's Nätra and Sidensjö were in the same pastorat. At that time Sidensjö broke away creating its own pastorat. From the 1500's forward Nätra has been the only parish in its patorat.|
|Härad||not applicable in Västernorrland|
|Tingslag||pre 1929 Nätra Tingslag|
|Domsaga||1930 - 1970 Ångermanlands norra domsagas|
|Kommun||1863 - 1970 Nätra |
1971 - Örnsköldsvik
|Militär indelning||2:a Norrlands 2:adels båtsmanskompani 22|
|NAD Ref Code||SE/HLA/1010149|
Bergom, Bjällsta, Bjästa, Björkåbäck, Björsby, Blåvik, Bredånger, Bräcke, Bäck, Bölen, Dal, Eden, Finnborg, Fors, Fröstdal, Förnätra, Genesön, Gladom, Gärden, Hagaris, Hummelvik, Hålviken, Hälle, Järvvik, Kornsjö, Långnäs, Mjäla, Norrsvedje, Norrtjärn, Norum, Nyland, Näs, Näske, Nätra, Nässjö, Nässjöbäcken, Orrvik, Prästbordet,Sandvik, Sel, Sjögom, Skrike, Skule, Skulnäs, Spjute, Strängön, Sunnansjö, Sörgård, Sörsvedje, Sörtjärn, Trysunda, Trysundaön, Ulvön, Utby, Vik, Västansjö, Västanå, Västersel, Ytterböle, Åmynnet, Öden, Östersel
To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.
- Surrounding Parishes
Sidensjö, Själevad, Vibyggerå
- Church Records
All the early church records were destroyed in the fire of 1807. The birth, marriage, and death records begin in 1809 and are consistent forward in time after that. There is a communion record that spans from 1768 to 1822. The flyttningsattester span 1815 to 1878. The earliest Husförhörslängd is begins in 1810. They are consistent up to 1895 when they were changed over to Församlingsböcker. The Husföhör seem to be kept well although they do not list the birth place, or a birth day and month up until about 1865.
- Court Records
- Military Records
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Also on Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR ($).
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Västernorrland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Västernorrland" and then select your parish.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! The have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
The book Släkter och gårdar i Nätra by Jan O. Nordvall and Per Sundin is the comprehensive source for the people who lived in Nätra between 1535 – 1900.
Societies and Libraries
The Nätra Hembygdsförening was founded in 1935. The society is located at the Hembygdsgården (the local Folk History site) located at Prästbordet between the church and the medieval church ruins. The manor house where they meet was built in the 1700s and comes from Näske village.
Nordvall, Jan O., Sundin, Per. Släkter och gårdar i Nätra 1535 – 1900. Bjästa: Ågrenshuset Produktion, 2009
Riksarkivet. "Nätra församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2010 <http://www.nad.ra.se/>
Nätra, Husförhörslängd 1839-1846, Ortregister
C M Rosenberg geografiskt lexikon.
Nätra Kyrkoherde. "Förteckning över Nätra Kyrkoarkiv." Nätra 1950