Nailsworth, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Nailsworth, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Nailsworth, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Nailsworth, Gloucestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Longtree
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Stroud
Registration District Stroud
Records begin
Parish registers: 1794; For more records see Minchinhampton, Horsley, and Avening
Bishop's Transcripts: None; For more records see Avening
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stonehouse
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

NAILSWORTH, a chapelry, chiefly in the parish of Horsley, but partly in the parishes of Avening and Minchin-Hampton, union of Stroud, hundred of Longtree, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 2 miles (S. W. by W.) from Minchin-Hampton, on the road from Bath to Cheltenham.The Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans, have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Nailsworth, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Nailsworth, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1794-1813 1794-1813 1895-1938 1895-1938 1794-1813 1794-1813
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1905-1962 1905-1962

Inchbrook parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Inchbrook Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1865-1895 1865-1895

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288774.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 363-366. Date accessed: 04 March 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.