Nairnshire, Scotland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Nairnshire, Scotland)
Jump to: navigation, search
United Kingdom
Scotland
Nairnshire
Scotland Wiki Topics
Flag of Scotland.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Scotland Background
Local Research Resources
Scotland-nairnshire.png

Guide to Nairnshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Background

Nairn is a county in the north-east of Scotland, bounded on the north by the Moray Firth, on the east by Elginshire (Moray) and a detached portion of the county of Inverness, on the south by Elginshire, and on the west and south-west by Inverness-shire. It is about 22 miles in length and 15 miles in breadth, comprising an area of 200 square miles or 128,000 acres.

It includes four parishes and small detached portions of ones from other counties. In civil matters, it and Elginshire are under the jurisdiction of one sheriff with a sub-sheriff over each. It contains the royal burgh of Nairn (the county town) and a few villages.

The population of the county in 1851 was 9217.

(Source:  Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, 2nd ed., 1851.  Family History Library 941 E5L, 2 vols. 

Scotlands People: An Important Online Source

ScotlandsPeople is one of the largest online sources of original genealogical information. If you are researching UK genealogy, your Scottish ancestry or building your Scottish family tree, they have more than 100 million records to look through.

The comprehensive choice of Scottish records includes:

  • Statutory Registers
  • Old Parish Registers
  • Catholic Parish Registers
  • CPR Others
  • Census
  • Valuation Rolls
  • Soldiers’ Wills
  • Wills & Testaments
  • Coats of Arms

For more detail on exact record availability, see Availability. For examples of the records available, see Record Types and Examples. More information on the site, its contents, and instructions for using it can be found in the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article. Indexes may be searched for free, and there is a small pay per view fee to see the actual digitized record.

Census

Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for Buteshire for 1881.  Click here for other census indexes available at the library.

Church Records

Civil Registration or Statutory Registers

For details on information found in statutory registers and other methods of searching them, see Scotland Statutory Registers - Vital Records.

Refer to the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article.
Images and Indexes Available at ScotlandsPeople Website ($)
Images-Years
Indexes
Births 1855-1910 ◊ScotlandsPeople Website has indexes to 2012.
Marriages 1855-1935
Deaths 1855-1960

Parishes

Here is a list of historic parishes for the county of Nairn.  Click on a parish name to see information about records. Click on this link for an outline map of the parishes of Nairn.

Parish No.
Ardclach 120
Auldearn 121
Cawdor 122
Nairn 123


Maps

Societies

Moray & Nairn FHS
3 Dunbar Lane
Duffus
Elgin
Moray
Iv305QN
Scotland
email enquiries@morayandnairnfhs.co.uk

Family History Society
14 Leachkin Avenue
INVERNESS
IV3 8LH
Scotland

Scottish Genealogy Society
15 Victoria Terrace
Edinburgh
EH1 2JL
Scotland
Phone-0131 220 3677
Email enquiries@scotsgenealogy.com



Websites