Namibia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Namibia)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Namibia

Namibia Wiki Topics
Flag of Namibia.svg (1).png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Namibia Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Namibia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Namibia is a country in Africa bordered by Angola, Zambia, Botswana, and South Africa. It was formerly under the rule of Germany and South Africa. The official language is English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Namibia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Namibia research.

Namibia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Namibia research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Namibia Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Namibia.

ǁKaras
Zambezi
Otjozondjupa
Omusati
Oshana
Oshikoto
Ohangwena
Hardap
Kunene
Erongo
Omaheke
Khomas
Kavango

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Namibia. Regions:

  • ǁKaras
  • Erongo
  • Hardap
  • Kavango
  • Khomas
  • Kunene
  • Ohangwena
  • Omaheke
  • Omusati
  • Oshana
  • Oshikoto
  • Otjozondjupa
  • Zambezi

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Namibia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Namibia, accessed 25 April 2016.