Nannerch, Flintshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Nannerch, Flintshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngNannerch

A guide to genealogy in Nannerch, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Nannerch is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Flintshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Flintshire.

History

"NANNERCH, a parish partly in the Caerwys division of the hundred of Rhuddlan, county of Flint, and partly in the hundred of Ruthin, county of Denbigh, 5 miles (S.by W.) from Holywell, containing 384 inhabitants. ... The church, dedicated to St Mary, is a neat plain structure. ... At Cwm, near the village, there is a place of worship for Calvinistic Methodists, erected in 1830. ... Near the boundary of the parish is Moel Arthur, a very extensive British encampment, occupying the summit of a lofty eminence; and near it are the remains of Pen y Cloddiau, the most extensive Britihs forrtification in this part of the principality: they are both situated on the range of the Clwydian mountians, within the limits of the parish." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]

For more information on Nannerch see: Genuki - Nannerch

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Flintshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464325.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites