Nashua New Hampshire Family History Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Nashua New Hampshire Family History Center

We serve southern New Hampshire and parts of Massachusetts. Anyone is welcome to visit; we have a wide variety of books, microfilms, and microfiche available for patrons to use.


Center Contacts and Hours

Address: 110 Concord St Nashua NH 03064.

We are located in the back of the church. There is a parking lot behind the church; park near the left side of the church and enter the doors that do not have steps. The center is right inside the door on the right.

Phone: 1 603-594-8888

E-mail: nashuafhc@gmail.com

Hours of Operation (exceptions noted below in "Upcoming Dates Closed"):

  • Tuesday: 10:00am - 2:00pm, 6:30 - 9:00pm
  • Wednesday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
  • Thursday: 10:00am - 2:00pm, 6:30pm - 9:00pm
  • Saturday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Upcoming dates closed

Holiday closings:

September 2 for the Labor Day weekend

November 21 through 25 for Thanksgiving

December 19 through 30 for Christmas and New Year's

Morning shift closings:

July 27

August 3, 10, 17, 31

September 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 19, 20, 21, 26, 27, 28

October 3, 4, 5, 10, 11, 12, 17, 18, 19, 24, 25, 26, 31

November 1, 2, 7, 8, 9, 14, 15, 16, 21, 22, 23, 28, 29, 30

December 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 19, 20, 21, 26, 27, 28

Evening shift closings:

August 1, 8, 15, 22, 29

September 5, 7, 12, 14, 19, 21, 26

October 3, 5, 10, 12, 17, 19, 24, 31

November 2, 7, 9, 14, 16, 21, 23, 28

December 5, 7, 12, 14, 19, 21, 26, 28

Saturday closings:

August 5, 19

September 2, 16, 23, 30

October 7, 21, 28

November 4, 18, 25

December 2, 16, 23, 30

What's New at the Center

Please let us know what you would like to see at the center and we will try to accommodate!

Workshops

Effective Use of Census Records

Details:

  • Open to the Public
  • Date: TBA
  • Time: TBA
  • Where: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, 110 Concord Street, Nashua, New Hampshire, in the Family History Center
  • Cost: Free

This class will review census records and how they can be used for Family History Research. We will focus on United States research but other countries' censuses will be covered briefly.

Attendees should have the following:

  • No special equipment is required. However, if desired, a FamilySearch or Ancestry.com account can be used during the hands-on portion of this class
  • Attendees may bring their own device to use for the hands-on portion of the class
  • An ancestor to research

Topics to be covered include:

  • What types of census records are available
  • What the purpose of the census is and how it was compiled (federal)
  • The various types of schedules and how they can be used for genealogical research (federal)
  • State censuses and how they are useful if you have already found your ancestor on the federal census
  • How to search the census for your ancestor
  • Techniques for how to find an elusive ancestor
  • Substitute databases for the 1890 census

Using the Gallery on FamilySearch

Details:

  • Open to the Public
  • Date: TBA
  • Time: TBA
  • Where: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, 110 Concord Street, Nashua, New Hampshire, in the Family History Center
  • Cost: Free

This class will review the gallery on FamilySearch and how to use its various features.

Attendees should have the following:

  • A FamilySearch account with some family data already entered
  • Digital media to add to their account including photos, documents, audio files, or video files. Files should be smaller than 15MB
  • May bring your own device for this class

Topics to be covered include:

  • Various ways to access the gallery
  • Uploading photos, documents, audio and video
  • Tagging and identifying uploaded media
  • Organizing your gallery into albums
  • Personalizing your family tree with the photos/documents uploaded to make your tree more personal

So I Have a FamilySearch Account - What Next?

Details:

  • Open to the Public
  • Date: TBA
  • Time: TBA
  • Where: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, 110 Concord Street, Nashua, New Hampshire, in the Family History Center
  • Cost: Free

If you are new to FamilySearch and want to explore the various features this is the workshop for you. Designed for the beginning genealogist, we will cover the basic features of FamilySearch and how to navigate the various pages and what information is found on each. Some basic adding and editing of information will be covered as well.

Feel free to bring your own device to work on since computer resources are limited.

Center Resources

Collections

  • FamilySearch Catalog: This center receives patron-ordered films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog. Choose the Nashua Family History Center as the center to which you would like films sent. If you try to order a film and a note tells you it is already here, please stop by to view the film/fiche.
  • Patrons' Microfiche Collection -- a collection of fiche ordered by our patrons, assorted titles. Contain family histories, vital records on United States, including individual states, Ireland, United Kingdom including Scotland and Wales, Italy, and various other countries.
  • Indefinite Film Collection -- a collection of films on United States, including individual states, Ireland, United Kingdom including Scotland and Wales, Italy, and various other countries
  • Book Collection: --

Databases and Software

  • FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access to premium subscription family history websites and databases that generally charge for subscriptions. They are free for our patrons. Please ask any of our staff for access to these portals and tools.

Hardware and Equipment

  • 3 computers for patron use, several microfilm and microfiche readers, 1 printer/scanner, 1 Flatbed Scanner, 1 Digital camera, card reader, and monopod.

Resources in the Local Area

Nashua Historical Society
Nashua Public Library Hunt Room at the Nashua Public Library - has an extensive collection of local genealogical resources.

Links

New Hampshire research

Hillsborough County, New Hampshire
Nashua Family History Center Facebook page
New Hampshire Online Records
New Hampshire Directories
New Hampshire Search Strategies

General research

Free Fillable PDF charts - free fillable pdf charts and records for those who would like hard copies typewritten of their family information.
Genealogy Gophers - a website with over 40,000 searchable genealogy books
Tree Connect - easily adds online records to your FamilySearch or Ancestry account. Download the button onto your toolbar to use. This tool is on all family history center computers.

Family Search Genealogy Research Communities on Facebook

These Facebook community pages are dedicated to certain areas of the world and are a great place to post questions, comments, share resources, etc., with other people searching for information in the same area you are researching.

Research community for Cyprus, France, Greece, Italy, Malta, Monaco, Portugal, San Marino, Spain, Vatican City
Research community forAlbania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Russia, Ukraine
Research community for Channel Islands, England, Ireland, Isles of Man, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales
Research community for Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden
Research community for Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland
Research community for Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington D.C., West Virginia
Research community for Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota,& Wisconsin
Research community for Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont
Research community for Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming
Research community for Australia, China, Hong Kong, India, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, Pacific Islands, South Africa, Taiwan, Thailand

Volunteer at the Center

We are always happy to have volunteers. A love of genealogy is the primary qualification. You must be comfortable with computers and be available at least twice a month during our regularly scheduled hours of operation. Please contact the Family History Center directors if you are interested in helping to staff the center. They can be reached via email at nashuafhc@gmail.com