Nauru Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Nauru)
Jump to: navigation, search

Pacific Gotoarrow.png Nauru

Nauru Wiki Topics
Nauru flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Nauru Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Nauru ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Nauru is an island country in the Pacific Ocean. It was formerly known as Pleasant Island. Nauru was annexed by Germany and became a colony in the late 19th century. It became a mandate territory administered by Australia, New Zealand, and the United Kingdom following World War I. The island was occupied by Japan during World War II, and after the war entered into trusteeship again. Nauru achieved independence in 1968. The official languages are Nauruan and English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Nauru Research

Links to articles on getting started with Nauru research.

Nauru Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Nauru research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Nauru Clickable Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Nauru. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Inauru-.png
Nauru lagoon.

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Nauru. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Nauru," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nauru, accessed 25 April 2016.