Nemaha County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Nemaha County, Kansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Nemaha County

Guide to Nemaha County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

{{{link}}}

Nemaha County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Nemaha County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 30, 1855
County Seat Seneca
Courthouse
px
Address Nemaha County Courthouse
607 Nemaha Street
Seneca, Kansas 66538-1761
Phone: 785.336.2170


County Information

Nemaha County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Tax Land Probate
1883 1857 1883 1860 1855 1857

County Courthouse

Nemaha County Courthouse
607 Nemaha Street
Seneca, KS 66538
Phone: 785.336.2146

County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records 1885-1911.
Clerk District Court has marriage, probate and court records from 1857. [2]

History

Parent County

1855--Nemaha County was created 30 August 1855 as an original county. County seat: Seneca [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Seneca City  

Sabetha City 

Neighboring Counties

Ksnemaha.jpg Brown | Jackson | Marshall  | Pawnee County, NebraskaPottawatomie | Richardson County, Nebraska

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Photos of Nemaha County

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
KSInterment WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
Kansas Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Nemaha County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps

Military

During the Civil War men from this county enlisted in the 7th Regiment, Kansas Cavalry; the 8th Regiment, Kansas Infantry; and the 11th, 13th and 15th Regiments, Kansas Infantry.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Nemaha County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Online Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Nemaha and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth Records
Death Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Nemaha County Historical Society
113 N. 6th St.
Seneca 66538
Telephone Number: 785-336-6366
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nemahan County, Kansas page 254, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).