Nenthead, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Nenthead, Cumberland)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Nenthead, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Nenthead, Cumberland
Type Hamlet
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leath
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Alston with Garrigill
Registration District Alston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hexham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Hamlet History

NENT-HEAD, a hamlet, in the parish and union of Alston, Leath ward, E. division of Cumberland, 4¼ miles (E. S. E.) from Alston. The Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists have places of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Nenthead, Cumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = FamilySearch - free[2]
Nenthead, Cumberland Genealogy Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs
1846-1929
1850-1953


Parish registers for Nenthead, 1846-1959

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241283.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Date accessed and adapted 6 August 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.