Nercwys, Flintshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Nercwys, Flintshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngNercwys

A guide to genealogy in Nercwys, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Nercwys is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Flintshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Flintshire.

The redundant spelling Nerquis can often be seen in older documents.

History

"NERQUIS (NERCWYS), a chapelry in the parish and hundred of Mold, county of Flint, 2.5 miles (S.) from Mold, containing 470 inhabitants. ... The chapel, dedicated to St. Mary, is a neat edifice with a handsome steeple, and contains a richly decorated niche in the interior, in which was anciently a figure of the Virgin." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]

For more information on Nercwys see: Genuki - Nercwys

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Flintshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464324.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites