Nesna, Nordland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Nesna, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngNordland County Gotoarrow.pngNesna

Guide to Nesna, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History

Nesna is a small coastal town located approximately 24 miles south of the Arctic Circle. The name comes from the old farm Nesna (Norse Nesnar), and is derived from the word nes 'headland'. The parish of Nesna has been in existance since the 1600’s. The municipality of Nesna was created on January 1, 1838.

Church Records

Nesna clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes of Nesna with Bardal chapel and Dønnes (Dønna) with Husby chapel. Includes Hjelpe cemetery at Sjona. Nesna or (Yttre Ranen) was an annex under Alstahaug clerical district until 1730, but was divided and made its own district on 12 Dec., 1738.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1704-1934.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Newna: 1704-1820, 1829-1910

Nesna / Dønna: 1820-1828, 1842-1910

Nesna / Nesna: 1820-1828, 1842-1861, 1864-1880, 1893-1928

Nesna / Sjona: 1864-1902

Dønna: 1855-1877, 1880-1939

Census Records

  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 clerical census for Alstahaug clerical district includes the parishes of Alstahaug, Herøy, Tjøtta, Vefsn, Nord-Rana and Nesna and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a scanned format at Digitalarkivet as well as in a searchable database.
  • Fogd og sorenskrivers manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 civil census for Nesna clerical district includes the parishes of Nesna and Dønnes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a scanned format at Digitalarkivet.
  • Manntall 1701: The 1701 census for Alstahaug clerical district includes the parishes of Alstahaug, Hemnes, Mo, Nesna, Vefsn, Tjøtta and Herøy and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a scanned format at Digitalarkivet as well as in a searchable database.
  • Sjeleregister, 1795-1797. The 1795-1797 census for Nidaros prosti include the parishes of Tjøtta, Nesna, Elsfjord and Korgen all in Nordland county and Grong, Høylandet, Harran, Klinga, Otterøy, Flatanger, Kvam, Følling and Verdal in Nord-Trøndelag county. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Nesna clerical district includes the parishes of Nesna, Dønnes and Sjona and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet.
  • Folketellingen i 1855, Nesna prestegjeld (Nordland). The 1855 census for Nesna clerical district includes the parishes of Nesna and Dønnes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

There are two Bygdeboks for Nesna (both available only in Norwegian):

  • Nesna Sogn - fram til år 1800 (Until the year 1800) by Øyvind Jenssen
    ISBN: 82-994038-0-4 and 82-994038-1-2
  • Nesna 1800 - 1920 - Fra Prestegjeld til kommune (From the Parishes of the munincipality) by Øyvind Jenssen
    ISBN: 82-994038-0-4 and 82-994038-1-2

Farm Names

90 Akkarviken, 5 Alsøen, 42 Auren, 73 Bakken, 69 Bardal indre, 75 Bardal ytre, 76 Bergsnev, 70 Blyset, 39 Botnet, 71 Breimo, 32 Buviken, 19 Dilleren, 46 Einmoen, 68 Ekren, 20 Enga, 78 Enga, 48 Engen, 79 Engen, 93 Fagerviken lille, 91 Fagerviken stor,  24 Feøen, 95 Finkonna, 1 Finviken, 28 Flostrand, 3 Forsland, 35 Fuglstad, 37 Fuglstadlien, 9 Hagen, 23 Halland, 63 Hammerøen, 55 Handaa, 6 Handnes, 8 Handstein, 34 Hauknes, 31 Helgaaen, 30 Helgaavatnet, 54 Herset, 64 Hinderaa, 16 Hines, 22 Horn, 21 Huglen, 53 Huske, 80 Høijorden, 41 Jægtstranden, 38 Kvalnes, 85 Laavong indre, 87 Laavong ytre, 74 Lagli, 29 Langstrand, 94 Lien, 77 Lindset, 47 Longset, 74 Mastermoen, 62 Mehus, 41 Myklebostad, 89 Naalkyta, 83 Neppelberg, 57 Nesne, 25 Nordbostad, 33 Nordfjorden, 67 Nordvikneset, 28 Nylandet, 52 Oldersletten, 65 Peperøen med Neppeløen, 84 Randalen, 10 Ravnfløi, 51 Remmaa, 49 Remmen, 92 Remmen, 17 Riksen, 59 Sandnes ytre, 18 Saura, 2 Sellaat, 40 Sjoneidet, 44 Sjonfjeldet, 43 Sjonstien, 11 Skaga, 86 Skaret, 4 Skjeivstad, 50 Skog, 63 Sleremmen, 56 Sletstrand, 13 Steiro, 41 Stokhaugen, 15 Stokka, 60 Strand nedre, 61 Strand øvre, 27 Tortenviken, 66 Underøen, 7 Valla, 81 Vasdal, 88 Velsvaag, 45 Venes med Laagland, 26 Vik, 26 Vikholmen, 12 Øbø, 18 Ørneset, 82 Østviken

Probate Records

1686-1878: Probates are found in Helgeland judicial district.

1728-1807: Clerical probates are found in Helgeland Deanery

Related Web Sites

  • Frode Holthe lives in Husby at the island Tomma in Nesna, Helgeland. He maintains a publicly accessable database with a large collection of genealogical information about the Nesna area. The site supports English and Norwegian. This is the English link: http://www.slekt.net/home.php

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names