Nether Peover, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Nether Peover, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Nether Peover, Cheshire|
|Poor Law Union||Northwich|
|Parish registers: None; For records see Great Budworth|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
PEOVER, NETHER, is a chapelry, in the parish of Great Budworth,the union and hundred of Northwich, and South division of the county of Chester, it is 3 miles (S. by W.) from Knutsford. The chapel is dedicated to St. Oswald.
Nether Peover is a chapelry of Great Budworth Ancient Parish in Cheshire.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241253.
Nether Peover St Oswald chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Nether Peover St Oswald Chapelry (1570) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1580-1896
|FS BT'S||1668-1899|| NONE
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
St Oswald's Registers of Baptisms 1570–1968, Marriages 1570–1997 and Burials 1570–1895 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office.
Lower Peover was a chapelry in Great Budworth parish. Cheshire Record Office call numbers: P4/1/1-4, P4/3723/1/1-2, P4/2/1-3, P4/3/1-5, P4/4/1-2, P4/5/1-2.
|Parish registers Content||Film|
|Baptisms, banns, marriages, burials, 1570-1654, 1661-1778. Baptisms, burials, 1778-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1896||BRITISH 2045886|
|Marriages, 1778-1934. Burials, 1813-1895. Banns, 1823-1910||VAULT BRITISH 2045871 Items 1 - 9|
|Marriages, 1934-1952||BRITISH 2262875 Items 9 - 10|
Bishop's transcripts for Lower Peover, 1600-1899 Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB 131
|Bishop's transcripts Content||FHL Film|
|Baptism, marriages, burials, 1600, 1605, 1607-1608, 1612, 1614-1615, 1617, 1621-1623, 1625, 1627-1637, 1639-1640, 1658-1663, 1666-1676, 1680, 1682-1685, 1691-1694, 1696-1703, 1707-1708, 1711-1772.||BRITISH 1656843 Item 3|
|Marriages, 1570-1654, 1661-1778. Banns, 1744-1778. Baptisms, burials, 1570-1654, 1661-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1896||BRITISH 1656844 Item 1|
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
- Northwich (1837-19740
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Nether Peover on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.