Netherlands, Limburg Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)
|This article describes a collection of historical records available at FamilySearch.org.|
Access the records: Netherlands, Limburg Parish Register Transcripts, 1562-1822 .
- 1 Title in the Language of the Records
- 2 Record Description
- 3 Record Content
- 4 How to Use the Record
- 5 Known Issues with This Collection
- 6 Related Websites
- 7 Related Wiki Articles
- 8 How You Can Contribute
- 9 Citations for This Collection
Title in the Language of the Records
Nederland, Limburg Parish Register Afschriften
This Collection will include records from 1562 to 1822. These parish register transcripts include various towns in Limburg Province, Netherlands.
Most of the transcripts are arranged in alphabetical order and have been transcribed from parish registers. Some names may not have been transcribed exactly as in the original, so you may want to check the originals. The information is typewritten in the form of a spreadsheet.
The transcript records start with a title page describing the place, church name, type of record, and dates of the following records. The names are then listed in alphabetical order. The alphabetizing rules used mean that names such as 'van BEUGEN' will be listed under B for 'Beugen.'
Some records were destroyed in wars and fires. As a result, government officials began collecting copies of some of the church records in the 1700s. Copies or duplicates of the parish records were used as Civil Registers. Duplicate records were maintained by the parish priests prior to 1796. An abstract or transcription of most of these duplicates is housed in state archives. Some of these registers were also collected at the Diocesan Archive. In 1929, the government ordered that all pre-1811 records be sent to the state archives and most parishes complied with this new rule. Those registers deposited at the regional and municipal archives have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library for research.
The parish register transcripts in the Netherlands are an excellent source for accurate information on names as well as dates and places of birth, marriages, and deaths. After 1811, it is also recommended to research the civil registration to verify and complement information. Between 1588 and 1795, the Dutch Reform Church was the state church, so it is also recommended to research those registers for those years.
For more information about the history, content, and use of these records see the wiki article Netherlands Church Records.
Use the transcripts, where available, to supplement the original parish registers, especially when originals are missing or illegible. Be aware that transcripts often differ slightly from the originals.
For a list of records by localities and dates currently published in this collection, select the Browse link from the collection landing page.
Birth and Christening Records generally contain the following information:
- Name of the child
- Names of the parents
- Birth date
- Christening date
Marriage Records generally contain the following information:
- Date and Place of Event
- Name of Bride and Groom
- Residence, Marital Status, and Age
- Names of Parents
- Names of Witnesses
Death Records generally contain the following information:
- Date and Place of Death
- Name of Deceased Person
- Age or Birth Date
- Residence Place and sometimes the Place of Origin
- Cause of Death
- Marital Status
- If Married, the Name of the Spouse and sometimes the Names of Children
- Sometimes Names of Parents
- Names of Witnesses
For Help Reading These Records
These records are in Dutch or Flemish. For help with reading the records, see the following resources:
|FHL Place Netherlands, Limburg items or FHL Keyword Netherlands, Limburg items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Netherlands Archives and Libraries.|
How to Use the Record
This section contains information on how to search the records, related searches, and how to use the information you find.
Searching The Collection
To search the collection image by image select "Browse through images" on the initial collection page:
⇒Select the appropriate “ Town/Municipality”
⇒Select the appropriate "Record Type "
Select the appropriate “Year Range or Alphabetical Sequence “ which will take you to the images.
Search the collection by image comparing the information with what you already know about your ancestors to determine if the image relates to them. You may need to look at several images and compare the information about the individuals listed in those images to your ancestors to make this determination.
Known Issues with This Collection
For a full list of all known issues associated with this collection see the attached Wiki article. If you encounter additional problems, please email them to email@example.com. Please include the full path to the link and a description of the problem in your e-mail. Your assistance will help ensure that future reworks will be considered.
- Zoekakten - This website is in Dutch. It narrows down this collection by different regions and records.
- Netherlands Province Links
- Limburg Genealogy (in Dutch)
Related Wiki Articles
How You Can Contribute
| We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Records. |
Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.
Citations for This Collection
When you copy information from a record, you should list where you found the information; that is, cite your sources. This will help people find the record again and evaluate the reliability of the source. It is also good to keep track of records where you did not find information, including the names of the people you looked for in the records. Citations are available for the collection as a whole and each record or image individually.
- "Netherlands, Limburg Parish Register Transcripts, 1562-1822." Images. FamilySearch. http://FamilySearch.org : accessed 2016. Citing Nederlands Rijksarchiefdienst [Netherlands National Archive, The Hague].
|The image citation is available by clicking on the Information tab at the bottom left of the screen. You can browse through images in this collection by visiting the browse page for Netherlands, Limburg Parish Register Transcripts 1562-1822.|