| The Netherlands Online Genealogy Records |
These are genealogy links to The Netherlands online databases to assist in researching your family history. This online collection has links to online databases and indexes that may include birth records, marriage records, death records, biographies, cemeteries, censuses, histories, immigration records, land records, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, or probate records.
Ancestry.com, FindMyPast.com, and MyHeritage.com can be searched free of charge at your local Family History Center or the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah.
| Church Records and Vital Records
Births, Baptisms, or Christenings; Marriages; Deaths or Burials
Church Records and Civil Registration
The following records have their own index. These are growing collections, and should be searched again in the future. Ancestry.com and MyHeritage.com can be searched free of charge at your local Family History Center or the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah.
Large Databases With Many Record Types
- Netherlands, Bibliothèque Wallonne, Card Indexes, ca. 1500-1858. Abstracts of baptisms, marriages, deaths, and memberships from French Protestant parish registers from Belgium, France, Germany, and the Netherlands. Card index. Incomplete.
- Netherlands, Births and Baptisms, 1564-1910. FamilySearch Historical Records. Indexed. Incomplete.
- Netherlands, Births and Baptisms, 1564-1910. MyHeritage.com, ($). Indexed. Incomplete.
- Netherlands, Marriages, 1565-1892. FamilySearch Historical Records. Indexed. Incomplete.
- Netherlands Marriages, 1565-1892, MyHeritage.com, ($). Index. Incomplete.
- Netherlands Births and Christenings, 1608-1882, ($). Index. Incomplete.
- Netherlands Marriages, 1637-1892, ($).
- Netherlands, Deaths and Burials, 1668-1945. FamilySearch Historical Records. Indexed. Incomplete.
- Netherlands, Deaths and Burials, 1668-1945. MyHeritage.com, ($). Indexed. Incomplete.
- Digital Resources Netherlands and Belgium, geneaknowhow.net. Click on the folder titled “Digital Resources Netherlands and Belgium”. The left-hand navigation bar includes general information, passenger lists, and then names each province in both countries with the sections.
- Digitale Stamboom. Indexed births, marriages, deaths,and other records from Gemmentearchief Delt, Archief Emland, Regionaal Historisch Centrum Eindhoven, Gemeentearchief Rotterdam, Haags Gemeentearchief.
- Archivenet, website for the Dutch archive system]. If searching for a specific locality, click on “Nederland” in the top left and choose either “plaats” (place) or “provincie” (province). Click on the locality in which you want to search, and a list of all the archives, by type and town, comes up with automatic links.English is available for
- Surname Navigator The Netherlands. Megasearch engines by province.
- Netherlands, Archival Indexes, Miscellaneous Records — index
Population Registers and Censuses|
Emigration, Immigration, and Passenger Lists
- Ship Passenger Lists from Holland to New Netherland: Miscellaneous Ships, 1654-1659, ($).
- Web: Netherlands, Dutch East India Company Passenger Lists to India, 1699-1794. Index.
- Passagierslijsten tot en met 1736, prior to 1736. Partially indexed. Incomplete.
- Passagierslijsten ná 1736, since 1736. Partially indexed. Incomplete.
- Dutch Immigrants to America, 1820-1880, ($). index. Incomplete.
- Dutch Immigrants: New York Passenger Lists, 1881-1894, ($). Index. Incomplete.
- Netherlands, Passenger Lists Holland-America Line, 1900-1974. Passenger lists for the Holland-America Line (Holland Amerika Lijn)
For translating vocabulary typically found on websites, see Dutch Websites- Vocabulary List.