New Caledonia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from New Caledonia)
Jump to: navigation, search

Pacific Gotoarrow.png New Caledonia

New Caledonia Wiki Topics
Flag of France.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
New Caledonia Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to New Caledonia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

New Caledonia (French: Territoire des Nouvelle Calédonie et Dependances) is a special collectivity of France. The official language is French.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with New Caledonia Research

Links to articles on getting started with New Caledonia research.

New Caledonia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in New Caledonia research.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

New Caledonia Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in New Caledonia.

New caledonia.png
New Caledonia and Vanuatu. Click the map to enlarge it.


Genealogy records are kept on the local level in New Caledonia. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

New Caledonia also includes these scattered islands:

  • Îles Loyauté [Loyalty Islands] (pop. 22,000)
  • Île des Pins [Island of Pines] (pop. 1,800)
  • Îles Bélep (pop. 1,000),
  • Îles Chesterfield
  • Atoll de Huon
  • Île Walpole
  • Île Matthew (uninhabited; also claimed by Vanuatu)
  • Île Hunter (uninhabited; also claimed by Vanuatu)

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. Wikipedia contributors, "New Caledonia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,, accessed 25 April 2015.