New Castle County, Delaware Genealogy
Guide to New Castle County, Delaware ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|New Castle County, Delaware|
Location in the state of Delaware
Location of Delaware in the U.S.
|Founded||August 8, 1673|
- 1 County Information
- 2 New Castle County, Delaware Historical Facts
- 3 New Castle County, Delaware Genealogy Resources
- 3.1 Bible Records
- 3.2 Cemeteries
- 3.3 Census
- 3.4 Church Records
- 3.5 Court Records
- 3.6 Emigration and Immigration
- 3.7 Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
- 3.8 Gazetteers
- 3.9 Genealogy
- 3.10 History
- 3.11 Land and Property
- 3.12 Military
- 3.13 Maps
- 3.14 Migration
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Web Sites
- 7 References
New Castle County, Delaware Record Dates
New Castle County, Delaware Historical Facts
New Castle County Courthouse
800 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
Previously known as New Amistel County, by 31 December 1674 the name had been changed to New Castle. Clerk of Peace has marriage records from 1911. The Prothonotary has divorce and court records. Register of Wills has probate records and the Recorder of Deeds has land records. 
The New Castle County Government Center
87 Reads Way
New Castle, DE 19720-1648
For animated maps illustrating Delaware County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Delaware County Boundary Maps" (1673-1841) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
New Castle County, Delaware Genealogy Resources
- Old Swedes Church Cemetery, Wilmington BillionGraves
Courtesy of the Diocese of Wilmington:
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Delaware Cemeteries for more information.|
For tips on accessing New Castle County, Delaware Genealogy census records online, see: Delaware Census.
- Contains the church records of:
- Wilmington: Central Presbyterian Church; First Presbyterian Church; Holy Trinity Church; St. Andrew's Episcopal Church
- Contains the church records of:
Christina Parish was located in what is now Wilmington. A 1754 membership list is preserved in Archivum Americanum at the Consistory Court of the Archbishop of Upsal in Sweden. A copy is held at the Historical Society of Pennsylvania.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
1638 Swedes and Finns settle at Fort Christiana (now Wilmington). They eventually spread as far north as Philadelphia. See New Sweden wiki article for more details.
1651 Dutch build Fort Casimir and Sandhook (now New Castle City). See New Netherland article for details.
1654 New Sweden captures Fort Casimir without a fight. It is renamed Fort Trinity (Trefaldighets).
1655 New Netherland returns a large army and forces all of New Sweden to submit to Dutch rule.
1664 As part of the Second Anglo-Dutch War New Netherland is surrendered to England.
1673 A new war breaks out. The Dutch send a huge armada to recapture New Netherland, but at the end of 1674 it is finally ceded to England. Nieuw Amstel is renamed New Castle after the English take control.
Land and Property
Civil War service men from New Castle County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in New Castle County.
- 1861-1865 - Delaware Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Delaware, New Castle County on page 126.]
Places / Localities
More information can be found at Delaware Hundreds.
Delaware Public Archives has placed the New Castle County Naturalizations Original petitions and other legal documents of immigrants wishing to become American citizens on-line. There is an alphabetical listing of the names and dates.The date listed reflects the year of the file and may vary from the document displayed. The file for each individual may contain more documentation.
- A Calendar of Delaware Wills, New Castle County, 1682-1800. New York, NY: National Society of the Colonial Dames of America, 1911; Baltimore, Maryland: Genealogical Publishing Company, 1969. (Family History Library book 975.11 S2n.)
The 1676 list of taxables has been published:
- Dickson, Taylor L. and P.S.P. Conner. "Some Data Concerning the Taking of Wolves in New Castle County in 1676, and a Reprint of the Taxables of that Year," Publications of the Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania, Vol. 1, No. 1 (Jan. 1895):29-34. For free online access, see WeRelate.
- New Castle County, Delaware Obituary and Death Notice Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. Obits and death notices from Various Funeral Homes in the Wilmington, Newark, Elsmere, New Castle, Middletown, Delaware City, Newport, Bellefonte and Odessa areas.
Societies and Libraries
Jewish Historical Society of Delaware
505 North Market Street
Wilmington, DE 19801-3091
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Newark Delaware Family History Center
- Newark, Delaware
- Wilmington Delaware Family History Center
- Wilmington, Delaware
- New Castle County, DE History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Delaware Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Delaware Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The New Castle County DEGenWeb Project, an member of The DEGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for New Castle County
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for New Castle County
- New Castle County, Delaware Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- New Castle County Genealogy (Delaware Genealogy)
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 109-117. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Castle, Delaware Page 121 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Charles J. Stillé, "Archivum Americanum in the Consistory Court of the Archbishop of Upsal," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 15 (1891):482, 484-485. For free online access, see WeRelate.
- Wayland F. Dunaway, The Scotch-Irish of Colonial Pennsylvania (Chapel Hill, N.C.: The University of North Carolina Press, 1944), 51. Free digital version at PA's Past: Digital Bookshelf at Penn State.
- Amandus Johnson, "Detailed Map of New Sweden 1638-1655" in Amandus Johnson's book The Swedes on the Delaware 1638-1664 (Philadelphia: Swedish Colonial Society, 1915), 392.
- John A. Munroe, Colonial Delaware: A History] (Millwood, N.Y.:KTO Press, 1978) [FHL book 975.1 H2mu], 16-18. “From there they proceeded according to instructions up the Delaware and into the Christina River, the Minquas Kill to the Dutch. Here, after reconnoitering the stream, Minuit met with Indians and purchased lands from Duck Creek (the southern boundary of New Castle County) to the Schuylkill. Here too a site was picked for a settlement that was called Fort Christina. It was at the Rocks, ‘a wharf of stone’ on the Christina about two miles from the Delaware River and above the junction of the Christina and its main tributary, the Brandywine, on the east side of the present city of Wilmington.”
- Johnson, Detailed Map.
- "Fort Casimir" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fort_Casimir (accessed 7 November 2008).
- Philip S. Klein, and Ari Hoogenboom, "A History of Pennsylvania, 2nd ed." (University Park, Penn.: Penn State Press, 1980; digitized by Google at http://books.google.com/books?id=AB24rFZOmzcC), 11.
- "New Netherland" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_netherland (accessed 13 December 2008).