Newbury, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Newbury, Berkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes 

Guide to Newbury, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newbury, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Faircross; Newbury Borough
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Newbury
Registration District Newbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newbury
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

NEWBURY (St. Nicholas), a market-town and parish, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Faircross, county of Berks, 17 miles (W. by S.) from Reading, and 56 (W. by S.) from London, on the road to Bath. The Baptists, Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians, have places of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Newbury, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
Newbury, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK

Undefined
Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Plymouth Brethren
  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241208.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Newbury in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 379-389. Date accessed: 10 April 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.