Newhills, Aberdeenshire, Scotland Genealogy
This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Newhills. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.
NEWHILLS, a parish, in the district and county of Aberdeen, 5 miles (W. N. W.) from the city of Aberdeen. The name of Newhills was given to this place when it was formed into a separate parish, the name of Keppelhills, by which it had before been called, being changed in order to commemorate the new character it then assumed. Before its erection into a parish, the district formed a part of the extensive parish of Old Machar or St. Machar, whose church was in the town of Old Aberdeen; and it was impossible for the inhabitants, so remotely situated, to attend regularly at the church. The present church, which is handsome and commodious, and centrally situated, was built in 1830.
The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.
A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.
Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Newhills, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:
|| FHL Film Number
|| Surname Indexes|
|| 6086502 (12 fiche)|
The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.
The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.
Established Church—Old Parochial Registers
| Record Type
|| Years Covered
|| FHL Film Number|
Condition of Original Registers—
Index: For an index to these records, see Scotland’s People website, a pay-for-view website. The Scottish Church Records Index is also still available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Some records may also be indexed in other FamilySearch collections for Scotland.
Births: No entries September 1715–September 1716, March 1729–March 1730, nor July 1742–January 1744. There are only two entries December 1745–26th May 1751. After August 1803, there are irregular entries 1780–1805, on three pages, which are followed by a copy of the record from 1769 to 1803, with continuation. Mothers’ names very seldom recorded March 1714–December 1812 inclusive.
Marriages: There are no entries July 1708–January 1710, June 1710–June 1711, July 1715–April 1717, nor January 1729–June 1730. Records are blank July 1731 to February 1772, and July 1785–May 1793. After May 1798, there are only four entries of marriages, viz., one for 1799, and for 1800, and two for 1802; but there are entries relating to proclamation fees 1805–1825, and one entry for 1830.
Deaths: Burials October 1772–March 1785, and Mortcloth Dues, very defective 1754–1820.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.
Monumental Inscriptions: FHL Book 941.25/N1 V3s.
Established Church—Kirk Session Records
The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.
Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:
Minutes and Accounts 1700–1746, includes accounts, 1751–1769, 1819–1854
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/280.
A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union List.
Newhills Free Church
The congregation here was formed in 1843, and recognized as a station. A church was built near the village of Auchmull. A manse also was provided. The charge was sanctioned in 1844.
Membership: 1848, 400; 1900, 588.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.
Deacon’s Court Minutes 1846–1874
Treasurer’s Accounts 1846–1858
Building Fund Accounts 1844–1857
Baptismal Register 1844–1874
Scroll Minutes 1844–1879
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/854.
Civil Registration Records
Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.
Newhills was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Aberdeen until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Aberdeen. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Aberdeen and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Aberdeen.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Aberdeen. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Aberdeen and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'
Read more about Scotland Probate Records.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 499-514. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 June 2014.
Return to Aberdeenshire parish list.