Newland, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Newland, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Newland, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newland, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred St Briavells
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Monmouth
Registration District Monmouth; Ross
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560; Separate registers exist for Clearwell beginning 1830
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Forest
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford Post 1541- Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

NEWLAND (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Monmouth, hundred of St. Briavell's, W. division of the county of Gloucester; containing, with the chapelries of Bream, Clearwell, and Coleford, and the tything of Lea-Bailey, 4 miles (S. E. by S.) from Monmouth. The Baptists and Wesleyans have places of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Newland, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[6]
Newland, Gloucestershire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1560-1812 1560-1812 1560-1753 1560-1753 1560-1812 1560-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1988 1813-1988
DEAN 1560-1972 1560-1923 1560-1989

Bream, Gloucestershire chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Bream, Gloucestershire Online Chapelry Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1814-1854 1814-1854 1830-1856 1830-1856

Clearwell, Gloucestershire chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Clearwell, Gloucestershire Online Chapelry Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1830-1913 1830-1913 1856-1938 1856-1938 1832-1962 1832-1962
DEAN 1830-1958 1856-1943 1856-1962

Coleford, Gloucestershire chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Coleford, Gloucestershire Online Chapelry Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1814-1863 1814-1863
DEAN 1784-1920 1872-1942 1784-1785

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288776.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 394-398. Date accessed: 12 February 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  6. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 22 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'