Newport, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Newport, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to Newport, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newport, Essex
St Mary Newport Essex .JPG
St Mary Newport Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Uttlesford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Saffron Walden
Registration District Saffron Walden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newport
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Newport, is a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Saffron-Walden district, Essex. The village is on the river Cam, the Eastern Counties railway, 3 miles S S W of Saffron-Walden; it was anciently called Newport-Pond. There is an Independent chapel as well as a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Newport, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Newport, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1558-1891
1559-1957
1558-1919
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
Non-Conformsit Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241377.


Poor Law Unions

Saffron Walden Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Newport on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870). Adapted: date accessed 19 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 11 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.