Newton, Herefordshire Genealogy
Guide to Newton, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Newton St John the Baptist Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Dore|
|Parish registers: 1849|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see Clodock|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Brecon|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
NEWTON, a township, in the parish of Clodock, union of Dore, hundred of Ewyaslacy, county of Hereford. It is situated on the left bank of the river Eskley, and comprises 1571 acres.
NEWTON, a township, in the parish of Croft, union of Leominster, hundred of Wolphy, county of Hereford, comprises 517 acres.
NEWTON, with Letton and Walford, county of Hereford.—See Walford, Herefordshire.
Newton St John the Baptist is an Ecclesiastical Parish formed in 1848 from Clodock, Herefordshire Ancient Parish. The civil parish is Newton (Longtown) in South Herefordshire and should not be confused with Newtown near Leominster or other places in the county with the same name.
The Parish church of St John the Baptist was consecrated in 1884 and has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.
The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers and Bishop's transcripts
Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Newton
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 404-407. Accessed and adapted 26 March, 2013.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 404-407. Accessed and adapted 9 April, 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.