Newton, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Newton, Northamptonshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Newton, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Newton, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Corby
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Kettering
Registration District Kettering
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Higham Ferrers
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History

NEWTON (St. Faith), a parish, in the union of Kettering, hundred of Corby, N. division of the county of Northampton, 3¾ miles (N. by E.) from Kettering. This place anciently included two townships, Great and Little Newton, each of which had a chapel of ease, subordinate to the church of Geddington. [1]

Also known as Newton in the Willows.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Newton, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
Newton, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1871 1813-1871 1813-1871 1813-1871
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912
FREG 1662-1908 1662-1908 1662-1908

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438874.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848).
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.