Newton (in the Isle), Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Newton (in the Isle), Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newton (in the Isle), Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wisbeach
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Wisbech
Registration District Wisbeach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wisbech
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

Newton (In the Isle) or Newton is a parish and a village, in Wisbeach district, Cambridgeshire. The village is near the boundaries of Norfolk and Lincoln, it is 3¾ miles N W of Wisbeach railway station; the post-office is under Wisbeach. The parish contains also the hamlet of Fitton-End.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Newton (in the Isle), Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Newton (in the Isle), Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1868 1599-1836, 1859
1599-1868

Newton-in-the-Isle, Cambridgeshire: baptisms, 1600-1639, 1646, 1648, 1654-1852; marriages, 1600-1639, 1654-1851; burials, 1600-1639; 1654-1851; vicars, curates etc., 1600-1638, 1653-1660; index at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Newton (near Wisbeach), 1599-1868 have been digitised.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241227.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Newton In The Isle on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 08 January 2014.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.