Newton County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Newton County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Newton County
American Civil War fought near Villines Mill (Boxley Mill), Newton CO., Arkansas

Guide to Newton County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.




Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Newton County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Newton County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 14, 1842
County Seat Jasper
Courthouse
ArkansasNewtonCourthouse.jpg
Address Newton County Courthouse
Court Street
Jasper, AR 72641-0435
Phone: 870.446.5125


County Courthouse

Newton County Courthouse
Court Street
Jasper, AR 72641-0435
Phone: 870.446.5125


County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1866, probate and court records from 1880.[1]

Beginning years for Newton County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1866 1914* 1880 1866 1880
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1842--Newton County was created 14 December 1842 from Carroll County. County seat: Jasper [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1866 All records destroyed by fire.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Boone  • Carroll  • Johnson  • Madison  • Pope  • Searcy  •

Newton CountyMarion CountyCarroll CountyBoone CountySearcy CountyBaxter CountyVan Buren CountyMadison CountyPope CountyConway CountyJohnson CountyLogan CountyFaulkner CountyFranklin CountyARNewton.JPG


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Newton County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

  • 1818-1828 - The land was part of a reservation granted to the Western Cherokee.
  • 1833 - This area was now part of Carroll County and white settoers had begun to move in.
  • 1842 December 14 - Newton County was established.
  • 1800s (late) - The terrain made the area unattractive to land speculators, which was encouraging to people who could not afford land in other parts of the state.
  • 1861 - The isolation of Newton County resulted in an increase in population at the start of the Civil War.
  • 1865 - After the war, families returned to their previous way of life.
  • 1900s (early) - The 1900s brought increased population as outsiders moved to the county. Land speculators bought property. The county reached its largest population of 12,538 in 1900.
  • 1970-2010 - The county population reached its low point of 5,844 in 1970 and now stands at 8330 in 2010.

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Newton County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Newton County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Newton County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Newton County, Arkansas Genealogy:


- 14th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Powers') (Confederate)
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Union)[5]
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[6] Companies A, C, and I

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Newton County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Newton County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Newton County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Newton County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Newton County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Newton County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 69.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. C. J. Miller, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=364&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c: accessed January 15, 2016), “Newton County.”
  5. Arkansas, Adjutant General's Office, Report of the Adjutant General of Arkansas, for the period of the late rebellion, and to November 1, 1866, (Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, c1990) FHL Collection
  6. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  7. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.